5 SA players in Super Rugby team of the season

    2017-08-10 10:56

    Cape Town - Five South Africans have cracked the nod for the official Super Rugby team of the season.

    Beaten finalists the Lions have three representatives - prop Jacques van Rooyen hooker Malcolm Marx and flank Jaco Kriel - while the Stormers duo of lock Pieter-Steph du Toit and wing Cheslin Kolbe were also included.

    Remarkably, no player from the champion Crusaders outfit made the team unveiled on SANZAAR’s official website.

    SANZAAR also gave a reason why no Crusaders player made the grade: “The fact that there are no Crusaders players in the team perhaps typifies the cliché that the whole team is greater than the sum of its parts, with the Christchurch side boasting a team that works well as a unit rather than relying on standout performances of a few members to get them across the line.”

    SANZAAR said the team of the season was made up from the top scorers in the Opta Index, based on their average per 80-minute tally, with only players who had accumulated at least 800 minutes eligible for selection.

    Chiefs fullback Damian McKenzie was named player of the season.

    SANZAAR's 2017 Super Rugby team of the season:

    15 Damian McKenzie (Chiefs), 14 Cheslin Kolbe (Stormers), 13 Samu Kerevi (Reds), 12 Ngani Laumape (Hurricanes), 11 James Lowe (Chiefs), 10 Beauden Barrett (Hurricanes), 9 Augustine Pulu (Blues), 8 Amanaki Mafi (Melbourne Rebels), 7 Ardie Savea (Hurricanes), 6 Jaco Kriel (Lions), 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers), 4 Guido Petti Pagadizábal (Jaguares), 3 Allan Alaalatoa (Brumbies), 2 Malcolm Marx (Lions), 1 Jacques van Rooyen (Lions)

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Sunday, 22 April 2018
    • Brumbies v Jaguares, GIO Stadium 08:05
    Friday, 27 April 2018
    • Hurricanes v Sunwolves, Westpac Stadium 09:35
    • Stormers v Rebels, Cape Town 15:05
    Saturday, 28 April 2018
    • Reds v Lions, Suncorp Stadium 07:05
    • Blues v Jaguares, Eden Park 09:35
    • Brumbies v Crusaders, GIO Stadium 11:45
    • Bulls v Highlanders, Loftus Versfeld 17:15


    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.