Will Sharks buy to replace Bok trio?

    2015-06-12 13:23

    Cape Town - With three Springboks set to depart the Sharks, will the Durban-based union invest in players within their own structures, or buy from elsewhere?

    This question will be a hot topic of discussion for Sharks fans in the next while.

    The Sharks earlier this week confirmed the departure of Bismarck and Jannie du Plessis as well as Willem Alberts, who will be playing their final match for the Durbanites when they face the Stormers at Kings Park on Saturday.

    Director of Rugby Gary Gold earlier this week answered in interesting fashion about how the Sharks were looking to replace the Bok trio.

    “They are simply irreplaceable. Therefore, maybe we should give the kids we have a here a run,” he told Netwerk24.

    “We have loose forwards like Dan and Jean-Luc (du Preez), as well as hookers like Kyle Cooper, Monde Hadebe and Franco Marais who deserve a chance.

    “Bismarck was also a young lad when he arrived here and got his chance. He also had to first make a name for himself and establish himself in the team.

    “The young players we have deserve to be a given a chance and we have to believe in them.”

    But Gold nevertheless hinted that they were planning a few new signings.

    “We’ll have to find one or two senior players, because you can’t just play with kids. There are a number of negotiations taking place. There are players we are looking at, but for now we have to first get this game (against the Stormers on Saturday) out the way and focus on that.”

    Saturday's clash at Kings Park kicks off at 19:10.



    15. Lwazi Mvovo, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. JP Pietersen, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. S’bura Sithole, 10. Lionel Cronje, 9. Stefan Ungerer, 8. Renaldo Bothma, 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Marco Wentzel (captain), 4. Etienne Oosthuizen, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

    Substitutes: 16. Franco Marais, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Lubabalo Mtyanda, 20. Khaya Majola, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Fred Zeilinga, 23. Heimar Williams


    15 Robert du Preez, 14 Johnny Kotze, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Pat Howard, 10 Kurt Coleman, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Nizaam Carr (captain), 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Michael Willemse, 1 Oli Kebble

    Substitutes: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Jan de Klerk, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Seabelo Senatla, 23 Kobus van Wyk

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.