Wentzel: Clean slate for Sharks

    2015-04-10 17:57

    Durban - Lock Marco Wentzel, who will captain the Sharks in their Super Rugby clash against the Lions in Johannesburg on Saturday, says they have put last week’s horror show against the Crusaders behind them.

    The Durbanites lost 52-10 in front of their home fans, while flank Jean Deysel was also sent off for kneeing an opponent in the head.

    Deysel was suspended for seven weeks, while captain Pat Lambie also injured his neck which has ruled him out for at least six weeks.

    With Bismarck du Plessis and Frans Steyn also suspended for foul play offences, the Sharks were forced to find a new captain for Saturday’s match, with Wentzel entrusted with the role.

    Speaking to the Sharks’ official website ahead of the match, Wentzel said: “The Crusaders game is gone and we’ve learned our lessons, we’ve all apologised and it’s behind us now.

    “It’s a new week, we have a bunch of new guys coming in and it’s very exciting for the Sharks for those who have the chance to play. And I’m excited to lead them. It’s a bit of a clean slate, everyone has a new chance. It’s going to be a tough job, even with the who’s who of South African rugby missing from our team and playing the Lions in Joburg will be a tough job.”

    Kick-off for Saturday’s clash at Emirates Airline Park is scheduled for 17:05.



    15. Andries Coetzee, 14. Ruan Combrinck, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Harold Vorster, 11. Mark Richards, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Faf de Klerk, 8. Warren Whiteley (captain), 7. Warwick Tecklenburg, 6. Jaco Kriel, 5. Franco Mostert, 4. Andries Ferreira, 3. Julian Redelinghuys, 2. Robbie Coetzee, 1. Jacques van Rooyen

    Substitutes: 16. Armand van der Merwe, 17. Corne Fourie, 18. Ruan Dreyer, 19. Robert Kruger, 20. Derick Minnie, 21. Lohan Jacobs, 22. Marnitz Boshoff, 23. Howard Mnisi


    15. Odwa Ndungane, 14. S'bura Sithole, 13. Waylon Murray, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Fred Zeilinga, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Renaldo Bothma, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Marco Wentzel (captain), 4. Mouritz Botha, 3. Lourens Adriaanse, 2. Franco Marais, 1. Dale Chadwick

    Substitutes: 16. Monde Hadebe, 17. Thomas du Toit, 18. Matt Stevens, 19. Etienne Oosthuizen, 20. Willem Alberts, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Lionel Cronje, 23 Jack Wilson

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.