Waratahs promote Potgieter

    2014-02-25 09:09
    Jacques Potgieter (Gallo Images)
    Cape Town - Former Springbok and Bulls forward Jacques Potgieter has been promoted to the Waratahs starting team for their Super Rugby clash against the Reds in Sydney on Saturday.

    According to the Waratahs' official website, it is the only change made by coach Michael Cheika from the team that earned a 43-21 bonus-point win over the Force last Sunday.

    Potgieter will start in place of Will Skelton at lock, with the 21-year-old dropping back to the bench.

    “It’s not about form, it’s about the roles they have to play in this particular game,” said Cheika.

    “Jacques brings a different set of skills than Will.  He has more experience and won’t give a damn that it’s a derby game. He brings a real physicality to the game in both attack and defence.”

    Skelton will still have an important role to play when he gets his chance.

    “Jacques was blowing pretty heavily after his 37 minute stint against the Force,” said the coach.  “When Will gets on, he’ll be expected to maintain the level of intensity and do the job he’s been set.” 

    Prop Paddy Ryan has withstood the challenge from Sekope Kepu and will retain his place alongside Benn Robinson and Tatafu Polota-Nau at the coalface in an all-Wallaby front row.

    Despite a minor knee injury, captain Dave Dennis will lead the side out. The backline remains untouched with Bernard Foley and Kurtley Beale in charge of the midfield.

    Rookie wing Alofa Alofa has held his spot after crossing for a try on debut and, along with Wallaby Peter Betham and Israel Folau, has his sights on being part of the best back three in this year’s Super Rugby competition.

    Saturday's game at ANZ Stadium kicks off at 10:40 (SA time).



    15 Israel Folau, 14 Alofa Alofa, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Peter Betham, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dave Dennis (captain), 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Jacques Potgieter, 3 Paddy Ryan, 2 Tatafu Polota Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.

    Substitutes (from): 16 Tola Latu, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Sekope Kepu, 19. Will Skelton, 20 Stephen Hoiles, 21 Brendan McKibbin, 22 Rob Horne, 23 Matt Carraro, 24 Pat McCutcheon, 25 Jonno Lance



    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.