Late Waratahs try sinks Chiefs

    2013-04-19 13:30
    Adam Ashley-Cooper (Gallo Images)

    Garrin Lambley - Sport24 Editor

    Cape Town - The defending champion Chiefs have crashed to a second successive defeat, this time against the Waratahs in Sydney on Friday.

    The Waratahs won 25-20 after leading 15-0 at half-time.

    The Waratahs scored three tries through wing Cam Crawford, fullback Israel Folau and replacement hooker John Ulugia. Scrumhalf Brendan McKibbin added two conversions and two penalties.

    The Chiefs replied with tries by replacement fullback Gareth Anscombe and prop Ben Tameifuna. Anscombe was also on target with both conversions and two penalties for a personal haul of 15 points.

    The Waratahs picked up four points for their victory, but stayed third in the Australian Conference. They did however move up to sixth in the Overall log.

    The Chiefs had to be content with a single point for losing by seven or fewer points. That point was enough to move them back to the top of the New Zealand Conference and second in the Overall standings.

    In next weekend's Round 11 action, the Chiefs host the Sharks in Hamilton (Saturday, April 27 at 09:35) while the Waratahs travel to Pretoria to face the Bulls (Saturday, April 27 at 17:05).



    15 Israel Folau, 14 Cam Crawford, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Rob Horne, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Brendan McKibbin, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dave Dennis (captain), 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Sitaleki Timani, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.

    Substitutes: 16 John Ulugia, 17 Paddy Ryan, 18 Mitchell Chapman, 19 Will Skelton, 20 Pat McCutcheon, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Ben Volavola, 23 Peter Betham


    15 Andrew Horrell, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Charlie Ngatai, 12 Richard Kahui, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Brendon Leonard, 8 Fritz Lee, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Messam (captain), 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Michael Fitzgerald, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Pauliasi Manu

    Substitutes: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Michael Kainga, 18 Nick Crosswell, 19 Tanerau Latimer, 20 August Pulu, 21 Gareth Anscombe, 22 Tim Nanai-Williams

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.