Top stats for Swiel, Brüssow

    2014-04-29 20:47

    Cape Town - Stepping out of the shadows of Springbok flyhalf Pat Lambie, Tim Swiel proved that he is one to watch after an encouraging performance for the Cell C Sharks against the Highlanders last weekend.

    South Africa has a tradition of producing metronomic kicking flyhalves and Swiel seems to be no exception judged by statistics taken from the weekend’s Vodacom Rugby Stats App.  The youngster scored the most points over the weekend and slotted the most penalties.  He kicked six penalty conversions for a total of 18 points.

    The Hurricanes' fleet-footed flyer Cory Jane scored the second most points courtesy of his hat-trick of tries.

    Third in the points category is another South African in Sias Ebersohn, pivot of the Force, who converted five penalties for his 15 points.

    Cheetahs fetcher Heinrich Brüssow continued to make a valuable contribution for his franchise. He won the most turnovers the past weekend - a category dominated by South African players - with four.

    He was followed by the Bulls' Bandise Maku, Conrad Smith of the Hurricanes, the Stormers' Duane Vermeulen, and Aaron Smith of the Highlanders - all equal on two.

    The stats also prove that South Africa remains proponents of lineout play as they dominate this facet of play.

    Waratahs-based Springbok Jacques Potgieter won the most lineouts on his own throw with seven along with Stephan Lewies of the Sharks and Bulls second-rower Victor Matfield.

    Bulls lock Paul Willemse stole the three of the opposition's lineouts, the most in this category from the last weekend.  He is followed by team-mate Grant Hattingh with two.

    Know your rugby and go to to download the App and follow the SuperGees at @vodacomrugga.

    Round-11 stats:


    1. Tim Swiel (Sharks) – 18

    2. Cory Jane (Hurricanes) – 15

    3. Sias Ebersohn (Force) – 15

    4. Lima Sopoaga (Highlanders) – 14

    5. Quade Cooper (Reds) – 11

    Penalty Goals:

    1. Tim Swiel (Sharks) – 6

    2. Sias Ebersohn (Force) – 5

    3. Gareth Anscombe (Chiefs) – 3

    4. Quade Cooper (Reds) – 3

    5. Simon Hickey (Blues) – 3

    Defenders Beaten:

    1. Chris Feauai- Sautia (Reds) – 10

    2. Andre Taylor (Hurricanes) – 7

    3. Deon Fourie (Stormers) – 6

    4. Alapati Leiua (Hurricanes) – 5

    5. Jack Lam (Hurricanes) - 5


    1. Matt Hodgson (Force) – 24

    2. Jacques du Plessis (Bulls) – 18

    3. Michael Hooper (Waratahs) – 17

    4. Beau Robinson (Reds) – 15

    5. Dave Dennis (Waratahs) – 14

    Turnovers won:

    1. Heinrich Brussow (Cheetahs) – 4

    2. Aaron Smith (Highlanders) – 2

    3. Bandise Maku (Bulls) – 2

    4. Conrad Smith (Hurricanes) – 2

    5. Duane Vermeulen (Stormers) – 2

    Lineouts won on own throw:

    1. Jacques Potgieter (Waratahs) – 7

    2. Stephan Lewies (Sharks) – 7

    3. Victor Matfield (Bulls) – 7

    4. Andre Taylor (Hurricanes) – 5

    5. Andries Ferreira (Cheetahs) – 5

    Lineouts stolen:

    1. Paul Willemse (Bulls) – 3

    2. Grant Hattingh (Bulls) – 2

    3. Beau Robinson (Reds) – 1

    4. Francois Uys (Cheetahs) – 1

    5. Michael Rhodes (Stormers) - 1

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.