Ton-up for Bulls' Ndungane

2014-03-05 12:21

Pretoria - Akona Ndungane will become the ninth Bulls player to play 100 Super Rugby matches for the franchise when they take on the Blues at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday (17:05 kick-off).

The stalwart wing made his Super Rugby debut way back in 2005 against the Cats and earned his 50th cap for the Bulls in 2009, playing against the Reds in Pretoria.

Ndungane, who scored against the Blues in last year’s win in Auckland, will start in an unchanged backline, as all three changes to the starting line-up made by Bulls coach Frans Ludeke, are in the forward pack.

Werner Kruger comes into the tighthead position for Frik Kirsten, who is suffering from a sore back.

Flank Deon Stegmann will start for the first time in this year’s competition. Stegmann has recovered from a groin strain and will replace Jono Ross at No 6. Ross moves to No 8 in place of Grant Hattingh.

Ludeke made one change on the bench as well, with a fit-again Morné Mellett to make his first appearance for the team this year, replacing Kirsten.

“We are quite pleased to have Steggies (Stegmann) back. He is an experienced campaigner and is not a Springbok for nothing.

"The Blues thrive on quick ball and Steggies will play a big role for us in slowing their ball down and creating turnovers,” said Ludeke said.

“It also allows Jono to move to his more natural position at the back of the scrum.”

Ludeke was full of praise for Ndungane.

“What a player to have in your side.

"He had to work so hard to get back into rugby after suffering two broken legs in a row and I think I speak on behalf of everyone in congratulating him on this milestone in his career.

"He has been exceptional for us and I am privileged to be his coach,” said Ludeke.

List of South African Vodacom Super Rugby centurions:

127: Victor Matfield (Cats 8, Bulls 119)

125: AJ Venter (Cats 19, Sharks 96, Stormers 10) and John Smit (Sharks)

123: Morné Steyn (Bulls)

122: Stefan Terblanche (Sharks)

118: Bryan Habana (Bulls 61, Stormers 57)

116: Danie Rossouw (Bulls), Jannie du Plessis (Cheetahs 26, Sharks 90)

114: Jacques Botes (Sharks)

113: Pedrie Wannenburg (Bulls), Adi Jacobs (Bulls 21, Cats 4, Sharks 88)

112: Fourie du Preez (Bulls)

110: Wynand Olivier (Bulls)

108: Ollie le Roux (Natal 24, Sharks 60, Cats 3, Cheetahs 21), Meyer Bosman (Cheetahs 61, Sharks 47)

107: Odwa Ndungane (Bulls 10, Sharks 97)

105: Bismarck du Plessis (Sharks)

104: Andries Bekker (Stormers), Jano Vermaak (Cats 11, Lions 62, Bulls 31)

103: Pierre Spies (Bulls)

102: Albert van den Berg (Cats 7, Sharks 95)

100: Bakkies Botha (Bulls)



15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Jono Ross, 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Flip van der Merwe (captain), 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 Dean Greyling

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Morné Mellett , 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Paul Willemse, 20 Jacques Engelbrecht, 21 Piet van Zyl, 22 Handré Pollard, 23 Ulrich Beyers




  • Bull Dozer - 2014-03-05 12:10


      Bull Dozer - 2014-03-05 12:28

      4 Meer as die Stormers en Sharks saam.

      Omgeklits DeMaaifudí - 2014-03-05 12:39

      True servant of the Blue people ! Congrats.

      Martin Pienaar - 2014-03-05 13:37

      Uhmm. Oefen die BLUES nie teen julle die naweek nie?

      Bull Dozer - 2014-03-05 14:53

      The 2nd and 3rd most successful teams in Super rugby history are playing this weekend. Anything else, Martin?

  • Lionel Kemm - 2014-03-05 12:11

    Congrats Akona....tough game for my Superbru but think I will back the Bulls.

  • Neels Bester - 2014-03-05 12:23

    Jono, Jono, Jono,Jono.................................WTF ! ! ! ! ! Frans Ludeke, word wakker klong. Jono is nie eers n Vodacom klas speler nie, waar is jy gedurende die game of oefening...Hy is so ONOSEL soos tien maar jy hou aan met die kerel. Hy het al seker by die vyf of ses strafskoppe afgestaan sedert die begin van die Superugby en jy kies hom bo ander ouens, nee jy rook iets erg ou pel. Maar na alles en nog wat..............EK HOU BY DIE BLOU ! ! ! ! .....O JA, GELUK AKONA.

      Bull Dozer - 2014-03-05 12:29

      Advantage Blues.

  • Willie Oosthuizen - 2014-03-05 12:23

    A true trooper for the Bulls. Congrats boss!

  • Albertus Lombaard - 2014-03-05 12:43

    Yet another Bulls legend that can show a super koppie for his efforts, we Bulls salute you son of the MIGHTY BULLS, all hail Akona, hope to see you have many more with our beloved team, winners of THREE SUPER KOPPIES. And that ladies and gents, and poofter supporters, is how you do proper unbiased praise.

      Domduane Love - 2014-03-05 16:22

      @Tyronde "baadjie" Educated much?

      Nick Mullett - 2014-03-05 20:02

      Tyrone is just piling on the fails. It's like he wants to ridicule himself.

  • Michelle le Roux - 2014-03-05 14:03

    BLUES should take this one with relative ease

      Willa Prinsloo - 2014-03-05 14:16

      You said about the Lions too

      Nick Mullett - 2014-03-05 14:31

      And then she disappeared, Willa.

  • Walter Bland - 2014-03-05 14:24

    Firstly I am a Sharks supporter and agree with your assessment of his brother, but you are wrong about Akona. He is one of the Bulls top players, reliable and hard working. He deserves heaps of praise for whst he has done for rugby in SA.

  • Ofentse Sarel Jones - 2014-03-05 21:26

    well done Akona... I hope you celebrate your big moment with a victory.

  • pages:
  • 1