Three debutants for Brumbies

    2015-02-12 21:59

    Canberra - Three Super Rugby debutants have been named in the Brumbies 23-man squad which will take on the Reds in Canberra on Friday.

    The Brumbies official website reports that Rory Arnold (lock), James Dargaville (wing, bench) and Lausii Taliauli (outside backs, bench) have all registered selections. The trio will join three other big names returning from injury, with David Pocock set to Captain the side while Club Captain Stephen Moore and Ita Vaea will also feature on the bench.

    Pocock and Moore’s high-profile injury lay-offs due to knee reconstructions are over, while Vaea’s two-year battle with a heart condition has also been put to bed.

    "Firstly with our captain David Pocock, we're pleased to see him back on the field after battling succesive knee injuries. I'm looking forward to his performance tomorrow," coach Stephen Larkham said.

    "We've got three players debutising tonight, starting with our 2 metre and 8cm lock, Rory Arnold, who becomes the tallest player in Super Rugby history. On the bench Lausii Taliauli and James Dargavilel have also impressed me. James comes from Sydney Uni and Lausii from the Aussie Sevens.

    "Also on the bench is our Club Captain, Stephen Moore, who is going to feature for us in the second half. He'll definitely get 20 or 30 minutes in the second half.

    "One of the best stories coming out of this team is the return of It Vaea. He was pretty much retired this time two years ago, but he's pushed through and everyone at the Brumbies is excited to see him back."

    Of the last eight times these teams have faced each other the home side has only won on two occasions – the Reds in 2012 and the Brumbies in 2013. Last year’s season opener went to the Reds and the Brumbies will be fighting hard to get their year off to a better start.



    15. Robbie Coleman, 14. Henry Speight,  13. Tevita Kuridrani, 12. Christian Lealiifano, 11. Joe Tomane,  10. Matt Toomua,  9. Nic White,  8. Jarrad Butler, 7. David Pocock (captain), 6. Scott Fardy, 5. Sam Carter, 4. Rory Arnold, 3. Ben Alexander, 2. Josh Mann-Rea, 1. Scott Sio

    Substitutes: 16. Stephen Moore, 17. JP Smith, 18. Ruan Smith, 19. Jordan Smiler, 20. Ita Vaea, 21. Michael Dowsett, 22. James Dargaville, 23. Lausii Taliauli


    15 Jamie-Jerry Taulagi, 14 Chris Kuridrani, 13 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 Lachie Turner, 10 Karmichael Hunt, 9 Will Genia, 8 Jake Schatz, 7 Liam Gill, 6 Curtis Browning, 5 Marco Kotze, 4 James Horwill, 3 Sam Talakai, 2 Saia Fainga'a, 1 James Slipper (captain)

    Substitutes: 16 James Hanson, 17 Ben Daley, 18 Sef Faagase, 19 Ed O'Donoghue, 20 Adam Korczyk, 21 Nick Frisby, 22 Duncan Paia'aua, 23 Campbell Magnay

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.