Thorn, Hore to face Cheetahs

    2013-03-07 12:24
    Cape Town - The Cheetahs' tour to Australasia just got tougher with the news that veterans Brad Thorn and Andrew Hore have been named in the Highlanders' starting XV to face the winless-SA franchise in Invercargill in Dunedin on Saturday.

    Kick-off is at 08:35 SA time.

    Hooker Hore will make his first Super Rugby appearance of the season after he missed the Highlanders' season-opening defeat to defending champions the Chiefs while he completed a ban from the All Blacks' end-of-year tour last year.

    His inclusion is one of three changes coach Jamie Joseph has made to his starting XV.

    Lock Thorn and loose forward Jake Paringatai have both been added and will make their debuts for the Highlanders.

    A World Cup-winner with the All Blacks, Thorn has recovered from a calf injury and replaces Jarrad Hoeata, who drops to the bench.

    Paringatai, who like Thorn has played for the Crusaders and returned to New Zealand from Japanese rugby, takes over at No 8 from Nasi Manu, who is nursing a foot injury.

    Among the reserves is flyhalf Colin Slade, who is in line to play his first match since breaking his left leg against the Brumbies last March.



    15 Ben Smith, 14 Kade Poki, 13 Phil Burleigh, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Jake Paringatai, 7 John Hardie, 6 Joe Wheeler, 5 Josh Bekhuis, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Ma'afu Fia, 2 Andrew Hore (captain), 1 Tony Woodcock

    Substitutes: 16 Brayden Mitchell, 17 Chris King, 18 Jarrad Hoeata, 19 Tim Boys, 20 Fumiaki Tanaka, 21 Colin Slade, 22 Shaun Treeby


    15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Willie le Roux, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Robert Ebersohn, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Pieter Labuschagne, 6 Frans Viljoen, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Lodewyk de Jager, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Trevor Nyakane.

    Substitutes: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Rynhard Landman, 19 Heinrich Brüssow, 20 Piet van Zyl, 21 Riaan Smith, 22 Ryno Benjamin.

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.