'Tahs wary of Lions scrum

    2014-05-16 09:25
    Cape Town - Waratahs coach Michael Cheika has heaped praise on the Lions scrum ahead of their Super Rugby clash in Sydney on Sunday.

    “The Lions have been excellent in the scrum. They've pretty much dominated nearly every opposition that they've come up against, or they've had a really good contest with them, and it's going to be a big battle for our forwards out there,” Cheika told the Waratahs' official website.

    Expecting a massive forward onslaught from the Lions, Cheika included the biggest player in the Waratahs squad, Will Skelton, to start.

    The 21-year-old tips the scales at close to 140kg and will bring some added weight to the Waratahs pack.

    Cheika has also named five forwards on the bench, making his intentions clear of what he expects from the Lions.

    The 'Tahs will chase a ninth straight win over the Lions, but the coach warned it won’t be easy after the Lions came within a point of beating the Highlanders in Dunedin last week.

    The Lions were 23-0 down at half-time, but fought back in the second period and had a chance to win the game at the death. However, replacement flyhalf Elton Jantjies missed a conversion from the corner as the Lions lost 23-22.

    “They were unlucky not to get the points in Dunedin and their second half was full of running,” said Cheika.

    Kick-off for Sunday's game is scheduled for 08:05 (SA time) on Sunday.



    15 Israel Folau, 14. Matt Carraro, 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12. Kurtley Beale, 11. Rob Horne, 10. Bernard Foley, 9. Nick Phipps, 8. Wycliff Palu, 7. Michael Hooper, 6. Dave Dennis, 5.Kane Douglas, 4.Will Skelton, 3. Paddy Ryan, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1. Benn Robinson

    Substitutes (from): 16. Hugh Roach, 17. Jeremy Tilse, 18. Sekope Kepu, 19. Jacques Potgieter, 20. Stephen Hoiles, 21. Brendan McKibbin, 22. Alofa Alofa, 23. Taqele Naiyaravoro


    15. Courtnall Skosan, 14. Deon van Rensburg, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Stefan Watermeyer, 11. JW Jonker, 10. Marnitz Boshoff, 9. Faf de Klerk, 8. Warren Whiteley (captain), 7. Derick Minnie, 6. Jaco Kriel, 5. Martin Muller, 4. MB Lusaseni, 3. Julian Redelinghuys, 2. Robbie Coetzee, 1. Schalk van der Merwe
    Substitutes: 16. Armand van der Merwe, 17. Corné Fourie, 18. Ruan Dreyer, 19. Rudi Mathee, 20. Warwick Tecklenburg, 21. Ross Cronjé, 22. Elton Jantjies, 23. Chrysander Botha

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.