Stormers sneak past Force

    2015-04-18 15:35
    Juan De Jongh of the Stormers pushes forward while being tackled by Adam Coleman of the Force during the round 10 Super Rugby match at the nib Stadium. (Getty)

    Sean Parker

    Cape Town - The Stormers edged the Force 13-6 in their final Super Rugby match of their Australasian tour.

    As it happened: Force 6 - 13 Stormers

    Flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis opened the scoring in the second minute, via a penalty. Two minutes later, Luke Burton leveled the score for home side also via a penalty.

    The Stormers were awarded a penalty try in ninth minute, which Catrakilis converted to give the Cape-side a 10-3 lead. Burton then slotted over his second penalty of the match just before half-time to put the Force within four points of the visitors at the break.

    The second half was largely devoid of any action as both teams defended well. Force centre Luke Burton was sent to the sin-bin for cynically going off side in the 74th minute.

    Stormers flyhalf replacement Kurt Coleman converted another penalty in the 75th minute to hand the Stormers their sixth win of the campaign.


    Force - Penalties: Luke Burton (2)

    Stormers - Tries: penalty try Conversion: Demetri Catrakilis Penalties: Demetri Catrakilis , Kurt Coleman



    15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Luke Morahan, 13 Kyle Godwin, 12 Luke Burton, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 ALby Mathewson, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Chris Alcock, 6 Steve Mafi, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Sam Wykes (captain), 3 Tetera Faulkner, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Pekahou Cowan

    Substitutes: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Chris Heiberg, 18 Oliver Hoskins, 19 Ross Haylett-Petty, 20 Angus Cottrell, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Zack Holmes, 23 Marcel Brache


    15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (captain), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Demtri Catrakilis, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff

    Substitutes: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Alistair Vermaak, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Jean Kleyn, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Nic Groom, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Huw Jones

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.