Stormers shrug off gutsy Kings

    2013-07-06 18:58
    David Bulbring and Eben Etzebeth (Gallo Images)
    Port Elizabeth - The Stormers beat the Kings 24-12 on Saturday in a South African Super Rugby derby which had little more than local pride at stake.

    Stormers captain Deon Fourie scored two tries off driving mauls and flyhalf Elton Jantjies kicked 11 points for the grinding win, lifting the Capetonians to an 8-7 record in a disappointing campaign after they finished top of the regular-season standings in 2012.

    The Stormers' faint hopes of forcing their way into the six-team playoffs had been ended earlier on Saturday with the Cheetahs' win over New Zealand's Blues.

    VIDEO: Kings v Stormers, highlights

    The Kings' points at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium came through four penalties from No 10 Demetri Catrakilis in a game that was still fierce and full of physical confrontation despite it having no effect on the post-season playoffs.

    Competition newcomers the Kings are in last place overall with one game to go in their debut season - a visit to the Sharks - before a promotion-relegation playoff against the Johannesburg-based Lions for a Super Rugby place after finishing bottom of the South African conference.

    Flank Fourie rumbled over at the back of a rolling maul a minute before half-time and then broke off the back of a similar drive to force his way through a number of tackles three minutes from the end, ensuring the Stormers improved their win-loss record before they finish 2013 at home against the conference-leading Bulls, a meeting of South Africa's historic rivals and which could still affect the Bulls' push to finish top overall.



    Penalties: Demetri Catrakilis (4)


    Tries: Deon Fourie (2)

    Penalties: Elton Jantjies (3), Joe Pietersen

    Conversion: Jantjies



    15. SP Marais, 14. Marcello Sampson, 13. Ronnie Cooke, 12. Andries Strauss (captain), 11. Michael Killian, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Shaun Venter, 8. Jacques Engelbrecht, 7. Wimpie van der Walt, 6. David Bulbring, 5. Darron Nell, 4. Cornell du Preez, 3. Grant Kemp, 2. Bandise Maku, 1. Schalk Ferreira

    Substitutes: 16. Charl du Plessis, 17. Hannes Franklin, 18. Steven Sykes, 19. Devin Oosthuizen, 20. Nicolas Vergallo, 21. George Whitehead, 22. Shane Gates


    15. Joe Pietersen, 14. Gio Aplon, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Bryan Habana, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Louis Schreuder, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Don Armand, 6. Deon Fourie (captain), 5. De Kock Steenkamp, 4. Eben Etzebeth, 3. Brok Harris, 2. Scarra Ntubeni, 1. Steven Kitshoff

    Substitutes: 16. Martin Bezuidenhout, 17. Pat Cilliers, 18. Gerbrandt Grobler, 19. Rynhardt Elstadt, 20. Nic Groom, 21. Gary van Aswegen, 22. Gerhard van den Heever


    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.