Stormers name touring squad

    2015-03-17 12:51

    Cape Town - The Stormers have announced a 27-man touring squad for their upcoming trip to Australasia, which will see them take on the Highlanders, the Hurricanes, the Waratahs and the Force on their 2015 Super Rugby away trip.

    Captain Duane Vermeulen will lead a squad with no selection surprises and a playing group which includes prop Oli Kebble, lock Eben Etzebeth, flank Michael Rhodes and wing Johnny Kotze - all of whom did not play against the Chiefs at the weekend.

    The only player unavailable because of injury is hard-working flank Rynhardt Elstadt (broken leg - suffered against the Blues in Round 2), with Stormers coach Allister Coetzee rightfully rewarding those players who have served the team so well thus far in 2015.

    The Stormers currently head up the SA Conference with 16 points from five matches, while they are in third position on the overall log - having lost just once in five fixtures (two at home, three away) in 2015.

     “Our loss to the Chiefs was obviously a disappointing one for us, but it’s up to us to bounce back on tour,” Coetzee told the Stormers’ official website.

    “I always say it, but there is not an easy match in Super Rugby and it certainly doesn’t get any easier away from home against quality outfits like the Highlanders, Hurricanes, the defending champion Waratahs and the Force.

    “That said, we’re a team that enjoys touring. We’re a close squad and even though we have a lot of first-time (Super Rugby) tourists in the group, our strong leadership team will give those new players the necessary guidance and support throughout.”

    The Stormers have a bye this weekend, before facing the highlander in Dunedin on March 28.

    Stormers touring squad (27):

    Ruan Botha - Lock

    Schalk Burger - Loose forward

    Manuel Carizza - Lock

    Nizaam Carr - Loose forward

    Demetri Catrakilis - Flyhalf

    Kurt Coleman - Flyhalf

    Damian de Allende - Centre

    Juan de Jongh - Centre (vice-captain)

    Eben Etzebeth - Lock

    Nic Groom - Scrumhalf

    Huw Jones - Centre/wing

    Oli Kebble - Loosehead prop

    Steven Kitshoff - Loosehead prop

    Jean Kleyn - Lock

    Vincent Koch - Tighthead prop

    Cheslin Kolbe - Fullback/wing

    Siya Kolisi - Loose forward

    Johnny Kotze - Wing/centre

    Dillyn Leyds - Wing/fullback/flyhalf

    Frans Malherbe - Tighthead prop

    Bongi Mbonambi - Hooker

    Scarra Ntubeni - Hooker

    Michael Rhodes - Flank/lock

    Louis Schreuder - Scrumhalf

    Kobus van Wyk - Wing/centre

    Alistair Vermaak - Loosehead prop

    Duane Vermeulen - No 8 (captain)

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.