Stormers name team for Bloem trip

    2015-04-30 13:17

    Cape town - Fit-again back Dillyn Leyds has been named in the Stormers' line-up for Saturday's Super Rugby clash against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein (17:05 kick-off).

    Leyds slots back into the No 11 jersey after missing his team’s hard-fought 15-13 win over the Bulls last Saturday because of a shoulder injury, with Pat Howard dropping out of the match-day 23 this week.

    The return of Leyds is one of just three changes to the line-up that started against the Bulls, with prop Steven Kitshoff and lock Eben Etzebeth both being rested - the latter as part of the SA Franchise teams’ agreements with SA Rugby.

    Oli Kebble will start in Kitshoff’s place (in his first start at this level, after 16 caps from the bench), while Jean Kleyn will make his 12th appearance in a Stormers jersey when he lines up alongside Ruan Botha.

    Prop Alastair Vermaak and lock Manuel Carizza return to the match-day 23 this week (on the bench), while starting tighthead prop Frans Malherbe and replacement scrumhalf Louis Schreuder are both set to win their 50th caps for the Stormers.

    Malherbe, who is 24 years old, made his debut against the Lions on February 26, 2011. Schreuder, who is 25 years old, played his first match for the Stormers against the Rebels on June 3, 2011.

    The Stormers are currently on a three-game winning streak, but have not won in Bloemfontein since 2012, with their record against the Cheetahs at Super Rugby level at the Free State Stadium reading as follows: played six, won three, lost three.

     “We will have the same mindset for this weekend as we do for all South African derbies. We understand how tough these games are and we know we need to pitch up, coach Allister Coetzee told the Stormers’ official website.

    “The Cheetahs pushed the in-form Lions in Johannesburg last week, they’re a good side - especially in Bloemfontein - and we know this will be a tough match.”



    15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Rayno Benjamin, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Sergeal Petersen, 10 Joe Pietersen, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Boom Prinsloo, 6 Tienie Burger, 5 Francois Uys (captain), 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen/Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Caylib Oosthuizen.

    Substitutes: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Dolph Botha, 18 Maks van Dyk/Ewald van der Westhuizen, 19 Steven Sykes, 20 Carel Greeff, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Francois Brummer, 23 Danie Dames


    15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Johnny Kotze, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Oli Kebble

    Substitutes: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Alastair Vermaak, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Manuel Carizza, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Huw Jones

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.