Stormers face Dagg on wing

    2014-03-06 11:27
    Cape Town - The Crusaders have named Israel Dagg on the left wing for Saturday's Vodacom Super Rugby match against the Stormers in Christchurch.

    Kick-off is at 08:35 SA time.

    Crusaders coach Todd Blackadder has made seven changes to the side humbled 34-25 by the Blues at Eden Park last weekend, with the main discussion point around his decision to retain Colin Slade at fullback and shunt Dagg, the All Blacks incumbent No 15, on to the wing.

    Following an indifferent performance in the Crusaders' opening loss to the Chiefs in Christchurch Dagg was dropped to the bench for the Blues match.

    Dagg is no stranger to playing on the left wing for the Crusaders, having started there in the opening round loss to the Blues last year. He has also been selected on the wing for the All Blacks.

    Johnny McNicholl has been added to the right wing and Rob Thompson has dropped right out of the 23. Blackadder has resisted chopping-up his midfield by retaining Ryan Crotty and Lee-Lo. Tom Taylor is again at flyhalf.

    With Richie McCaw gone for two months with a fractured thumb, Matt Todd gets his first start of the year at No 7.

    Luke Romano replaces fellow All Blacks lock Dominic Bird and Wyatt Crockett comes in for loosehead prop Tim Perry.



    15 Colin Slade, 14 Johnny McNicholl, 13 Reynold Lee-Lo, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Israel Dagg, 10 Tom Taylor, 9 Willi Heinz, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Matt Todd, 6 Luke Whitelock, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett

    Substitutes: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Tim Perry, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Dominic Bird, 20 Jordan Taufua, 21 Andy Ellis, 22 Tyler Bleyendaal, 23 Kieron Fonotia


    15  Jaco Taute, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Jean de Villiers (captain), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Gio Aplon, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Deon Fourie, 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Michael Rhodes, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff

    Substitutes: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Oliver Kebble, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Ruan Botha, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Peter Grant, 23 Sailosi Tagicakibau

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.