Stormers' Carr clocks 50

    2015-05-28 21:20

    Lloyd Burnard - Sport24

    Cape Town - It seems like it happened in the blink of an eye, but Nizaam Carr will earn his 50th Super Rugby cap for the Stormers against the Cheetahs on Saturday.

    The 24-year-old is benefiting from Schalk Burger’s rest week, and his 50th cap will come in front of his home crowd and with a start.

    "It’s brilliant and I’m sure we’d all like to make sure it is a good 50th. We understand that people are normally superstitious with 50 and those milestones," said Coetzee.

    "It’s a great opportunity for Nemo (Carr) at Newlands and he is excited to get a run on and a start again. So we wish him well. We all know it’s not about the individual milestones, the team comes first, and I’m sure Nemo will do his best for the team to be successful."

    Coetzee also explained the thinking in selecting Carr at number six.

    "I know I initially said earlier in the week that Nemo might slot in at seven, but look, both those players have played six and both can carry ball as well so we just thought it best for Nemo to go to the six role," Coetzee said.

    "It’s immaterial, it’s just a number on a back."

    Burger’s exclusion also means that there is room on the bench for Sikhumbuzo Notshe, who makes the step up from Vodacom Cup rugby this week.

    "He’s really been playing consistently well at Vodacom Cup level and therefore he’s on the bench. It’s a great opportunity for him as well."

    Kick-off on Saturday is at 17:05. 



    15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Seabelo Senatla, 13. Juan de Jongh (vice-captain), 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Dillyn Leyds, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7. Siya Kolisi, 6. Nizaam Carr, 5. Manuel Carizza, 4. Eben Etzebeth, 3. Vincent Koch, 2. Scarra Ntubeni, 1. Steven Kitshoff

    Substitutes: 16. Bongi Mbonambi, 17. Oli Kebble, 18. Frans Malherbe, 19. Jean Kleyn, 20. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21. Louis Schreuder, 22. Kurt Coleman, 23. Huw Jones


    15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Joe Pietersen, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Boom Prinsloo, 6 Tienie Burger, 5 Francois Uys (captain), 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Danie Mienie

    Substitutes: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 BG Uys, 18 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 19 Steven Sykes, 20 Henco Venter, 21 Sarel Pretorius, 22 Coenie van Wyk, 23 Rayno Benjamin

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.