Steenkamp starts against Lions

    2014-05-22 11:08
    Cape Town - Lock Wilhelm Steenkamp and winger Dane Haylett-Petty will return to the Western Force starting line-up for their Super Rugby clash against the Lions in Perth on Saturday.

    South African-born Steenkamp returns to the run-on side after starting from the bench against Stormers last weekend. He will pack down in place of Adam Coleman, who shifts down to the bench.

    Haylett-Petty missed the Stormers game after succumbing to a groin strain suffered in the 23-16 win over the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein the previous week. The 24-year-old replaces Marcel Brache at right wing after Brache sustained an ankle injury against his former team at Newlands.

    The Force retained the remainder of the 23 from last weekend’s match.

    According to the Force's official website, the team will wear pink socks for Saturday’s match as part of the McGrath Foundation’s ‘Pull On Your Socks’ campaign, raising funds and awareness for breast cancer support services across Western Australia and Australia.

    Kick-off for the clash at the NIB Stadium is scheduled for 11:40 (SA time).



    15. Jayden Hayward, 14. Dane Haylett-Petty, 13. Chris Tuatara-Morrison, 12. Luke Burton, 11. Nick Cummins, 10. Sias Ebersohn, 9. Ian Prior, 8.  Ben McCalman, 7. Matt Hodgson (captain), 6. Angus Cottrell, 5.  Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4. Sam Wykes, 3. Kieran Longbottom, 2. Nathan Charles, 1. Pek Cowan

    Substitutes: 16. Heath Tessmann, 17. Tetera Faulkner, 18. Ollie Hoskins, 19. Adam Coleman, 20. Brynard Stander, 21. Justin Turner, 22. Zack Holmes, 23. Patrick Dellit


    15. Coenie van Wyk, 14. JW Jonker, 13. Deon van Rensburg, 12. Alwyn Hollenbach, 11. Anthony Volmink, 10. Marnitz Boshoff, 9. Ross Cronjé, 8. Warren Whiteley (captain), 7. Warwick Tecklenburg , 6. Jaco Kriel, 5. Franco Mostert, 4. Rudi Mathee, 3. Ruan Dreyer, 2. Armand van der Merwe, 1. Corné Fourie
    Substitutes: 16. Robbie Coetzee,17. Jacques van Rooyen, 18. Julian Redelinghuys, 19. Willie Britz, 20. Stephan de Wit, 21. Faf de Klerk, 22. Elton Jantjies, 23. Stefan Watermeyer

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.