Solomons' timing questioned

    2013-08-02 14:01
    Cape Town - Lions coach Johan Ackermann has questioned the timing of Kings Director of Rugby Alan Solomons announcing his departure to Scottish club Edinburgh.

    Solomons earlier this week announced that he will leave the Kings after the second leg of their Super Rugby promotion-relegation playoff clash against the Lions at Ellis Park on Saturday.

    Ackermann feels Solomons' decision could have an impact on the Kings' performance.

    "It can go either way, and can obviously also serve as motivation," Ackermann told the Beeld website.

    "But if things start going wrong half way through the match then the guys could start asking questions: 'The coach has jumped from the sinking ship, maybe it's over and out for us?'"

    Ackermann said he would never announce his departure before such an important game.

    "If I had to say I am departing, I don't think this group would be very positive. They would want me to support them and stay with them. But that's just how it is at the Lions," continued Ackermann.

    The Kings face a tough task to keep their Super Rugby status alive.

    They lost the first promotion-relegation match 26-19 last Friday and must win Saturday's second clash at Ellis Park (17:00 kick-off) by at least eight points or with a four-try bonus point to have any hope of staying in the competition.



    15. Ruan Combrinck, 14. Deon Helberg, 13. Stokkies Hanekom, 12. Dylan Des Fountain, 11. Anthony Volmink, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Ross Cronje, 8. Warren Whiteley, 7. Derick Minnie, 6. Jaco Kriel, 5. Franco van der Merwe, 4. Hendrik Roodt, 3. Julian Redelinghuys, 2. Martin Bezuidenhout, 1. JC Janse van Rensburg

    Substitutes: 16. Robbie Coetzee, 17. Ruan Dreyer, 18. Willie Britz, 19. Warwick Tecklenburg, 20. Guy Cronje, 21. Marnitz Boshoff, 22. Chrysander Botha


    15. SP Marais, 14. Hadleigh Parkes, 13. Ronnie Cooke, 12. Waylon Murray, 11. Scott van Breda, 10. George Whitehead, 9. Shaun Venter, 8. Jacques Engelbrecht, 7. Wimpie van der Walt, 6. David Bulbring, 5. Darron Nell (captain), 4. Cornell du Preez, 3. Kevin Buys, 2. Bandise Maku, 1. Schalk Ferreira

    Substitutes: 16. Charl du Plessis, 17. Hannes Franklin, 18. Steven Sykes, 19. Devin Oosthuizen, 20. Nicolas Vergallo, 21. Wesley Dunlop, 22. Shane Gates

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.