Sharks win Durban derby

    2014-03-08 21:06

    Durban - Marcell Coetzee scored a try at the death to give the Sharks a bonus point along with their four for victory over the Lions as they moved top of the Super Rugby table with a 37-23 scoreline at Kings Park in Durban on Saturday night.

    AS IT HAPPENED: Sharks v Lions

    The hosts were full value for their win against a plucky visiting team that pushed hard, only for the men from Johannesburg to be outscored by four tries to two.

    Paul Jordaan, Cobus Reinach and Odwa Ndungane were the other scorers for the coastal side, while Frans Steyn, shifted to flyhalf at the last minute due to Patrick Lambie falling ill, produced a masterclass in kicking with 17 points.

    Francois de Klerk and Deon van Rensburg crossed for Johan Ackermann's side in what turned out to be mere consolation points.

    The Sharks began well from the outset with a try after only eight minutes, which came when Warwick Tecklenburg lost the ball in attack and it was spread wide to Lwazi Mvovo, whose grubber kick bounced kindly for Jordaan to gather after fumbling in the air on his way over.

    The Lions hit straight back with two Marnitz Boshoff penalties - the first awarded when Bismarck du Plessis failed to release in a tackle and the second after Marcell Coetzee did not roll away quick enough for referee Jaco Peyper's liking.

    However, an error by Willie Wepener allowed the Sharks to win three points straight back via a monster 40 metre Steyn kick as they lead by four after 21 minutes.

    The Johannesburg franchise then conceded another three for not retreating 10 metres as another clean Steyn hit, this time from the halfway line, extended the advantage.

    The remarkable Sharks number 10 again showed his excellent long-range kicking ability after the half hour when he landed a 55 metre kick when Ruan Combrinck was punished for a late tackle.

    Boshoff won the three points back as Reinach entered a ruck from the side, but the home scrumhalf made amends in some style when he picked up the ball following a won lineout and danced his way through the defence to score on the right corner.

    Ten minutes into the second half the Sharks had a third try when an attempted Elton Jantjies chip failed to clear Willem Alberts and the pieces were picked up by Coetzee as he spread wide to Ndungane to score in the right corner.

    The Lions did manage to pull a try back with 17 minutes to play as De Klerk picked up at the base of a ruck and squeezed his way over.

    Ryan Kankowski was subsequently sin-binned for repeated infringements during the build-up to the try and the visitors made full use of that advantage five minutes later when Van Rensburg latched onto Boshoff's well-weighted kick to set up a tense finish.

    There was somewhat of an anticlimax for the Lions, though, with Corne Fourie yellow carded after 74 minutes handing the hosts a reprieve.

    The Sharks made full use of that by scoring in the last minute when Coetzee drove over following a lineout.



    Tries: Paul Jordaan, Cobus Reinach, Odwa Ndungane, Marcell Coetzee
    Conversions: Frans Steyn (4)
    Penalties: Steyn (3)


    Tries: Francois de Klerk, Deon van Rensburg
    Conversions: Marnitz Boshoff (2)
    Penalties: Boshoff (3).



    15 SP Marais, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Heimar Williams, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Frans Steyn, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis (captain), 1 Tendai Mtawarira

    Substitutes: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Dale Chadwick, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Stephan Lewies, 20 Jean Deysel, 21 Charl McLeod, 22 Fred Zeilinga, 23 S'bura Sithole.

    15 Marnitz Boshoff, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Deon van Rensburg, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Chrysander Botha, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley (captain), 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Franco Mostert, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Schalk van der Merwe

    Substitutes: 16 Robbie Coetzee, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Ruan Dreyer, 19 MB Lusaseni, 20 Willie Britz, 21 Ross Cronje, 22 Jacobus Jonker, 23 Coenie van Wyk

    Read More On:  lions sharks super 15 rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.