Sharks touring squad named

    2014-04-24 13:30
    Durban - Sharks Director of Rugby, Jake White, has selected a 27-man squad for the Australasian leg of their Super Rugby campaign.

    The Sharks face the Highlanders on Kings Park on Friday night before departing on Saturday.

    Commenting on the squad, White said: "I have gone for 15 forwards and 12 backs, my selection was based on who is fit and healthy, but the nice thing is that there are a lot of guys who can play in different positions. We have a lot of players who can cover one or two positions which is good when you’re selecting a touring squad."

    The Sharks will play four games on tour - against the Rebels (May 2), Brumbies (May 10), Crusaders (May 17) and Blues (May 23).

    Sharks squad:


    Lourens Adriaanse
    Willem Alberts
    Dale Chadwick
    Marcell Coetzee
    Kyle Cooper
    Keegan Daniel
    Jean Deysel
    Bismarck du Plessis (captain)
    Jannie du Plessis
    Wiehahn Herbst
    Ryan Kankowski
    Stephan Lewies
    Tendai (Beast) Mtawarira
    Lubabalo (Tera) Mtembu
    Etienne Oosthuizen


    Paul Jordaan
    SP Marais
    Charl McLeod
    Lwazi Mvovo
    Odwa Ndungane
    JP Pietersen
    Cobus Reinach
    S'bura Sithole
    Francois Steyn
    Tim Swiel
    Heimar Williams
    Fred Zeilinga

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.