Sharks braced for huge challenge

    2015-05-14 10:50

    Sharks coach Gary Gold is expecting a physical battle in Sydney against the Waratahs on Saturday (11:40 kick-off, SA time).

    On Thursday Gold named an unchanged starting line-up from the side that lost to Hurricanes last weekend, keeping faith in the players were part of that much-improved display.

    But Saturday will be just as tough for the Durban side. While they have seen their playoff aspirations disappear, the ‘Tahs are very much in the hunt – seventh on the overall log going into the weekend and desperate to overhaul the Brumbies as Australian conference leaders.

    “They’re a very physical team, probably the most physical Australian team,” said Gold.

    “And then the likes of Beale, Folau and Ashley-Cooper – they have some fantastic play-makers in the backline.”

    “A big strong pack but they move the ball well so we’re going to have to get our defensive shape right. Their front row has played probably 80 or 90 times together and all of them Wallabies,” Gold added.

    “They’re a formidable team, one through 15, they’re a well-balanced team and threats everywhere; this is possibly our toughest challenge to date.”

    While it has been a season to forget for the Sharks, Gold said that he could not ask for more from his players in terms of effort, especially in their eight point loss to the Hurricanes.

    “I genuinely believe we are working harder now, week on week. I have to highly commend the professionalism of this group,” he said.

    “They’re hurting terribly – we all are – no-one ever wants to be in this position.”

    “I’d like us to break our losing streak while we’re on the road, especially against a team like the Waratahs. We’re going to come out firing …”





    15. Lwazi Mvovo, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. JP Pietersen, 12. Frans Steyn, 11. S'bura Sithole, 10. Lionel Cronje, 9. Stefan Ungerer, 8. Renaldo Bothma, 7. Etienne Oosthuizen, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Marco Wentzel (captain), 4. Stephan Lewies, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

    Substitutes: 16. Franco Marais, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Mouritz Botha, 20. Kyle Cooper, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Andre Esterhuizen, 23. Waylon Murray

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    1 comment
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.