Scarra: Let's keep it simple

    2015-05-29 06:36

    Lloyd Burnard - Sport24

    Cape Town - Sometimes, even at the highest level, keeping things simple is a far better idea than being elaborate.

    The Stormers lineout has come under attack from critics in the second half of the Super Rugby season, and hooker Scarra Ntubeni thinks he knows why.

    “It was a bit complicated,” Ntubeni said of his side’s lineout work this season.

    “We didn’t take what was there for us. Lineouts are not a tough thing. There’s always something open and you just need to exploit it or find it. You don’t need to do funny things.”

    Ntubeni said that it was especially important, now that the business end of the season is approaching, to get back to basics in ensuring ball of their own throw.

    “These games now are going to be more like, sort of, Test match rugby where you take what you can get,” he said.

    “You play with what you have and you don’t want to try anything fancy because it can cost you.”

    Ntubeni is also mindful of the fact that poor lineouts with the Stormers could cost him a Springbok place at the end of the year.

    “I haven’t hit my form that I’ve wanted to hit, but it’s a lot better than it was at the beginning of the year,” he said.

    “I think I should not put too much pressure on myself to make the Bok squad, I should focus on the Stormers and do well for the Stormers and if I can do that then we can start talking, or start thinking, of contention. It’s something I’d really like to achieve this year.

    “A coach like Heyneke (Meyer) is focused a lot on the set piece, and he puts a lot of emphasis on execution. So if our lineout isn’t functioning then it minimises your chances.”

    The Stormers take on the Cheetahs at Newlands on Saturday. Kick-of is at 17:05.



    15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Seabelo Senatla, 13. Juan de Jongh (vice-captain), 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Dillyn Leyds, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7. Siya Kolisi, 6. Nizaam Carr, 5. Manuel Carizza, 4. Eben Etzebeth, 3. Vincent Koch, 2. Scarra Ntubeni, 1. Steven Kitshoff

    Substitutes: 16. Bongi Mbonambi, 17. Oli Kebble, 18. Frans Malherbe, 19. Jean Kleyn, 20. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21. Louis Schreuder, 22. Kurt Coleman, 23. Huw Jones


    15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Joe Pietersen, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Boom Prinsloo, 6 Tienie Burger, 5 Francois Uys (captain), 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Danie Mienie

    Substitutes: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 BG Uys, 18 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 19 Steven Sykes, 20 Henco Venter, 21 Sarel Pretorius, 22 Coenie van Wyk, 23 Rayno Benjamin

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.