SBW set to storm Newlands

    2015-03-13 08:41

    Cape Town - Japan skipper Michael Leitch will make his Vodacom Super Rugby debut for the Chiefs against the Stormers at Newlands on Saturday. 

    Kick-off is at 15:00.

    According to the SA Rugby mag website, Chiefs coach Dave Rennie has made five changes to the starting line-up and one positional switch following their 20-17 loss to the Highlanders last weekend.

    In the only change to the pack, Leitch will start at No 8, with captain Liam Messam moving to No 6.

    Damian McKenzie will start at fullback in place of Tom Marshall, Bryce Heem gets the nod on the right wing ahead of Hosea Gear and scrumhalf Brad Weber is paired with No 10 Aaron Cruden as the halfbacks.

    Tim Nanai-Williams comes in at outside centre in place of the injured Charlie Ngatai and will partner with his cousin Sonny Bill Williams in midfield.

    Jamie Mackintosh, Augustine Pulu, Andrew Horrell and Tom Marshall all join the reserves.

    The Stormers and Chiefs top their respective Conferences, with the home side leading the Overall standings as well. The Chiefs find themselves third in the Overall log, two points adrift of their opponents on Saturday.



    15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Dillyn Leyds, 10. Kurt Coleman, 9. Louis Schreuder, 8. Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7. Siya Kolisi, 6. Nizaam Carr, 5. Manuel Carizza, 4. Jean Kleyn, 3. Vincent Koch, 2. Scarra Ntubeni, 1. Steven Kitshoff

    Substitutes: 16. Neil Rautenbach, 17. Alistair Vermaak, 18. Frans Malherbe, 19. Ruan Botha, 20. Schalk Burger, 21. Nic Groom, 22. Demetri Catrakilis, 23. Huw Jones


    15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Bryce Heem, 13 Tim Nanai-Williams, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Michael Leitch, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Messam (captain), 5 Michael Fitzgerald, 4 Matt Symons, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Pauliasi Manu

    Substitutes: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Siate Tokolahi, 18 Jamie Mackintosh, 19 Michael Allardice, 20 Maama Vaipulu, 21 Augustine Pulu, 22 Andrew Horrell, 23 Tom Marshall

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.