Reds wary of Cheetahs quartet

    2015-04-16 14:15

    Cape Town - Reds coach Richard Graham has singled out four Cheetahs danger-man ahead of their Super Rugby encounter in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

    The Reds started their South African tour with a 43-22 defeat to the Bulls in Pretoria last weekend and will be eager to return home to Queensland with a win under their belts.

    “The Cheetahs enjoy the game becoming loose and with the likes of Sarel Pretorius, Cornal Hendricks and Raymond Rhule they are able to capitalise very quickly. Add Heinrich Brussow to that mix and they become a very capable side,” Hill told the Reds’ official website.

    Hill on Thursday made four personnel changes to the starting side.

    Up front, lock James Horwill returns to the starting line-up after missing last weekend due to suspension. He replaces Dave McDuling who injured his knee against the Bulls. James Hanson returns to start at hooker after Saia Fainga’a suffered an upper body injury against the Bulls.

    In the backs, James O’Connor is back at left wing, with Chris Feauai-Sautia shifted to the centres and Anthony Fainga’a moving to the bench.

    Graham has opted for a five-three split on the bench, with Andrew Ready again in line to make his debut as reserve hooker. Should he take the field, Ready will be the 14th Reds debutant this season.

    “It is disappointing to lose Saia (Fainga’a), Dave (McDuling) and Ben (Tapuai) to injury but we’re fortunate this time around to be able to bring James Horwill and James O’Connor into the side. Both have a lot of experience at this level of rugby and also playing at altitude here in South Africa,” Hill continued.

    Saturday’s clash at the Free State Stadium kicks off at 19:10 (SA time).



    15 Coenie van Wyk, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Joe Pietersen, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Boom Prinsloo, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Francois Uys (captain), 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 BG Uys

    Substitutes: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Danie Minnie, 18 Maks van Dyk, 19 Steven Sykes, 20 Tienie Burger, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Willie du Plessis, 23 Rayno Benjamin


    15 Karmichael Hunt, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 James O’Connor, 10 Nick Frisby, 9 Will Genia, 8 Adam Thomson, 7 Liam Gill, 6 Curtis Browning, 5 James Horwill, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 James Hanson, 1 James Slipper (captain)

    Substitutes: 16. Andrew Ready, 17 Ben Daley, 18 Sam Talakai, 19 Marco Kotze, 20 Adam Korczyk, 21 Anthony Fainga’a, 22 Campbell Magnay, 23 Chris Kuridran

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.