Potgieter back for Waratahs

    2015-05-27 11:08

    Cape Town - Waratahs loose forward Jacques Potgieter has been passed fit to make their Super Rugby trip to South Africa.

    He returns to the squad after missing the past two weekends of action with a bruised sternum.

    On the eve of their tour, the 2014 Super Rugby champions were also dealt a significant blow to their title defence after the suspension of two key forwards.

    Hooker Tolu Latu and towering Test lock Will Skelton were suspended for four and two weeks respectively on Monday for their part in a lifting tackle on Crusaders and All Blacks lock, Sam Whitelock.

    SANZAR’s finding means that the Waratahs headed to South Africa without their first two first-choice hookers with Test hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau being rested after two concussions this season.

    This means that 22-year-old hooker Hugh Roach, who has played just a handful of games, will start for the Waratahs and Manly hooker Dave Porecki will also join the touring party.

    Skelton, like Latu’s ruling, will be challenged by the Waratahs and has travelled with the team in anticipation of a favourable ruling.

    But if the suspension stands, his absence will be slightly lessened by the inclusion of former Wallaby Dean Mumm, who returns to the Waratahs after playing for and captaining English club Exeter since 2012.

    The Waratahs will face the Lions in Johannesburg on Saturday, before concluding their tour against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein the following week.

    Waratahs tour squad to South Africa:

    1. Adam Ashley-Cooper

    2. Kurtley Beale

    3. Peter Betham

    4. Matthew Carraro

    5. Mitchell Chapman

    6. Dave Dennis

    7. Israel Folau

    8. Bernard Foley

    9. Stephen Hoiles

    10. Michael Hooper

    11. Rob Horne

    12. Sekope Kepu

    13. Dave Porecki

    14. Pat McCutcheon

    15. Brendan McKibbin

    16. Wycliff Palu

    17. Nick Phipps

    18. Jacques Potgieter

    19. Hugh Roach

    20. Ben Robinson

    21. Paddy Ryan

    22. Will Skelton

    23. Jeremy Tilse

    24. Taqele Naiyaravoro

    25. Jack Dempsey

    26. Dean Mumm

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.