Palu withdraws from Waratahs

2012-03-09 07:47

Dunedin - Wycliff Palu has been withdrawn from the HSBC Waratahs’ team for Saturday’s FxPro Super Rugby round three clash against the Highlanders in Dunedin.

The influential No 8 experienced some lower leg tightness earlier in the week which was further hindered by yesterday’s travel disruption.

Flight cancellations meant the team was forced to endure an 11 hour journey, starting with a five hour delay in leaving Sydney Airport and ending with their journey to Dunedin rerouting via Auckland.

As a result, Head Coach Michael Foley and the HSBC Waratahs medical team have decided not to risk Palu, instead replacing him at the back of the scrum with Manly’s Tevita Metuisela.

Metuisela travelled with the team as the 23rd man and comes into the starting side as a straight swap for Palu. His inclusion means the rest of the match day 22 is unchanged.


Highlanders: 15 Colin Slade, 14 Kade Poki, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Phil Burleigh, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Nasi Manu, 7 John Hardie, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Nick Crosswell, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 3 Chris King, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Jamie MacKintosh (captain)

Substitutes: 16. Jason Rutledge, 17. Bronson Murray, 18. Culum Retallick, 19. James Haskell, 20. Jimmy Cowan, 21. Kurt Baker, 22. Buxton Popoalii

Waratahs: 15 Bernard Foley, 14 Tom Kingston, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 10 Daniel Halangahu (captain) , 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Tevita Metuisela, 7 Patrick McCutcheon, 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson 

Substitutes: 16 John Ulugia, 17 Paddy Ryan, 18 Lopeti Timani, 19 Chris Alcock, 20 Brendan McKibbin, 21 Tom Carter, 22 Brackin Karauria-Henry