Bulls turn the Paige to Rudy

    2015-02-26 13:58

    Pretoria - Bulls coach Frans Ludeke handed scrumhalf Rudy Paige a first Super Rugby start when he named his team to play the Sharks at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria on Saturday (17:05 kick-off).

    All of his nine previous appearances in the competition came via the bench with his elevation to the starting team the only change from the run-on side that came up short against the Hurricanes last weekend.

    Paige, who played off the bench in the 17-13 defeat, replaces Piet van Zyl, who drops out of the match-day squad altogether. Travis Ismaiel comes in for Paige on the bench and should he take to the field, the former Junior Springbok wing will make his debut for the team.

    “Rudy has been playing well and we feel his game is best suited for this week and opponent,” Ludeke explained.

    A fit-again Marcel van der Merwe will also been eased in from the bench.

    “We have started poorly, no doubt and we have put ourselves under pressure, even if it is early in the competition,” said Ludeke.

    “One cannot really afford to drop any home matches if you have serious title aspirations, so nothing but a win will suffice. We realise the Sharks are one of the best teams in the competition, but we owe it to ourselves and the supporters out there to play to our potential. If we do that, we will be competitive as our squad is certainly good enough.”

    Bulls captain Pierre Spies feels his team can turn the season around.

    “We have lost to ourselves as much as our opponents so far. We need to eliminate the soft moments from our game and make sure we execute. It is going to be a tough battle, a typical local derby, but we are ready for this challenge,” Spies said.



    15 Jesse Kriel, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Handre Pollard 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Pierre Spies (captain), 7 Lappies Labuschagne, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Jacques du Plessis, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Morne Mellett

    Substitutes: 16 Callie Visagie, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Grant Hattingh, 20 Hanro Liebenberg, 21 Tian Schoeman, 22 Travis Ismaiel, 23 Jurgen Visser


    15. SP Marais, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Waylon Murray, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Renaldo Bothma, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4. Lubabalo Mtyanda, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (captain), 1. Dale Chadwick

    Substitutes: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Thomas du Toit, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Marco Wentzel, 20. Jean Deysel, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Fred Zeilinga/Lionel Cronje, 23. Jack Wilson

    Read More On:  bulls super 15 pretoria rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.