Oosthuizen starts for Cheetahs

    2013-04-17 14:21
    Bloemfontein - Cheetahs coach Naka Drotské has made only one change to his side who face the Sharks in their Super Rugby encounter in Durban on Saturday (17:05 kick-off).

    Drotské has brought in Springbok prop Coenie Oosthuizen into the starting line up for the first time this season.

    Oosthuizen, who took part in the first Springbok training camp in Cape Town and has been on the bench for the majority of the Cheetahs' games this year, comes in for Trevor Nyakane, who moves to the bench.

    "Coenie has a lot of intensity, both on attack and at the break down area. He will also give us added power in the scrums against the Sharks. Things didn't go the way we would have liked against the Bulls, said Drotské.

    "We got the bonus point, but we let ourselves down with regards to a victory. This weekend it is crucial that we deliver a winning performance."

    Drotské felt his side's decision making against the Bulls was not too the required standard, with other aspects of their game also needing attention.

    "Our decision making was left wanting against the Bulls. That is one area that we cannot afford to come up short against the Sharks," he said.



    15. Riaan Viljoen, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Meyer Bosman, 11. Sean Robinson, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Keegan Daniel (captain), 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Franco van der Merwe, 4. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 3. Wiehahn Herbst, 2. Kyle Cooper, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

    Substitutes: 16. Craig Burden, 17. Jannie du Plessis, 18. Anton Bresler, 19. Lubabalo Mtembu, 20. Charl McLeod, 21. Francois Steyn, 22. Andries Coetzee


    15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Willie le Roux, 13 Johan Sadie, 12 Robert Ebersohn, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Burton Francis, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Phillip van der Walt, 7 Lappies Labuschagne, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Lodewyk de Jager, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Coenie Oosthuizen

    Substitutes: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Landman Ligtoring, 19 Frans Viljoen, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Francois BrummeR, 22 Ryno Benjamin

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.