New halfback partnership for Sharks

    2015-05-07 08:31

    Cape Town - Sharks Director of Rugby Gary Gold has named his team to tackle the Hurricanes in a Super Rugby clash in Wellington on Saturday.

    Gold has opted for a new halfback partnership, with Lionel Cronje replacing the struggling Fred Zeilinga at flyhalf and Stefan Ungerer taking the No 9 jersey from Cobus Reinach, who broke his hand in last weekend’s 48-15 defeat to the Highlanders in Dunedin.

    Conrad Hoffmann, who also struggled when he replaced Reinach last weekend, remains on the bench.

    Frans Steyn is also back in the starting team after serving a five-week ban for a tip tackle. He replaces Andre Esterhuizen, who drops down to the bench.

    Lwazi Mvovo, who played left wing last week, has been picked at fullback, with Odwa Ndungane moving to right wing and S'bura Sithole to the left.

    Up front, Gold was also able to select his Springbok front row for the first time in six weeks, with the Du Plessis brothers, Jannie and Bismarck, starting alongside Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira.

    Renaldo Bothma also replaces Willem Alberts in the No 8 jersey.

    Kick-off for Saturday’s clash at Westpac Stadium is scheduled for 09:35 (SA time).



    15 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith (captain), 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Matt Proctor, 10 James Marshall, 9 Chris Smylie, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Blade Thomson, 5 James Broadhurst, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Ben Franks, 2 Motu Matu'u, 1 Chris Eves

    Substitutes: 16 Brayden Mitchell, 17 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 18 Reggie Goodes, 19 Callum Gibbins, 20 Brad Shields, 21 Frae Wilson, 22 Otere Black, 23 Rey Lee-Lo


    15. Lwazi Mvovo, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. JP Pietersen, 12. Frans Steyn, 11. S'bura Sithole, 10. Lionel Cronje, 9. Stefan Ungerer, 8. Renaldo Bothma, 7. Etienne Oosthuizen, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Marco Wentzel (captain), 4. Stephan Lewies, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

    Substitutes: 16. Franco Marais, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Mouritz Botha, 20. Kyle Cooper, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Andre Esterhuizen, 23. Waylon Murray

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.