New style: Coetzee sceptical

    2014-04-03 14:00
    Cape Town - Stormers coach Allister Coetzee says there needs to be a lot of discussion and debate before the Cape side can adopt a more attacking-minded game style.

    Newly appointed Western Province Director of Rugby, Gert Smal, earlier this week said he wanted WP and Stormers teams to revert back to playing traditional 'WP rugby' in future.

    "I would like to see us play a typical WP/Stormers brand of rugby. I want to see players express themselves, " said Smal.

    Under the guidance of Coetzee, WP and Stormers teams have become notorious for being a defensive-minded unit which scores few tries.

    As an example, when the Stormers topped the Super Rugby log in 2012, they did so without once bagging a four-try bonus point victory.

    But Coetzee said it's too early to say if they will indeed change their style.

    "There needs to be a lot of discussion and debate about it. It's a complete cultural change, and then you have to look at contracting the right kind of players who can play that game," Coetzee told Thursday's Cape Times.

    "It's definitely a long-term thing, and it needs a lot of discussion and debate, especially about where the game is going now. If you look at how teams win, what creates the odds, and put that in your favour - how to win games. And then we will surely come up with a great solution that will suit our brand going forward."

    The Stormers face the Waratahs at Newlands on Saturday (19:10 kick-off).



    15. Jaco Taute, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Sailosi Tagicakibau, 10. Peter Grant, 9. Louis Schreuder, 8. Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7. Siya Kolisi, 6. Nizaam Carr, 5. Michael Rhodes, 4. Ruan Botha, 3. Frans Malherbe, 2. Deon Fourie, 1. Steven Kitshoff

    Substitutes: 16. Stephan Coetzee, 17. Oliver Kebble, 18. Brok Harris, 19. Tazz Fuzani, 20. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21. Nic Groom, 22. Demetri Catrakilis, 23. Michael van der Spuy


    15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Alofa Alofa, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Jono Lance, 11 Peter Betham, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Dave Dennis (captain), 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Jacques Potgieter, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Will Skelton, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson

    Substitutes: TBA

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.