Ludeke: Potgieter the right man

    2013-06-27 14:00
    Cape Town - Bulls coach Frans Ludeke says loose forward Dewald Potgieter is the perfect replacement as both captain and No 8 for Pierre Spies.

    Potgieter, 26, was on Wednesday named captain of the Bulls ahead of their clash against the Kings at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday, replacing the incumbent Springbok No 8 who was ruled out for the season with a bicep injury.

    Potgieter will take charge for the first time this season. His namesake, Jacques Potgieter, returns to the loose trio at blindside flank for the injured Arno Botha, where he will partner Deon Stegmann, who starts in his regular spot at openside.

    Potgieter has some leadership experience, having captained the Emerging Springboks to a draw against the 2009 British and Irish Lions, and also leading the Blue Bulls during last year's Currie Cup.

    "That is exactly what you want (as a replacement), somebody who comes out of your leadership core in the team and is a senior player," Ludeke told the Rugby365 website.

    "He is a player that understands the system, he has the respect of the players, understands the game, makes good calls on the field and can function under pressure."

    Ludeke said he was impressed with the way Potgieter had led the Bulls in the Currie Cup.

    "We took note of that. We are very impressed with Dewald's leadership."

    Saturday's clash at Loftus kicks off at 17:05.



    15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Louis Fouché, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Dewald Potgieter (captain), 7 Jacques Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Dean Greyling.

    Substitutes: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Juandré Kruger, 19 Jono Ross, 20 Rudy Paige, 21 Morné Steyn, 22 JJ Engelbrecht.


    15 SP Marais, 14 Michael Killian, 13 Ronnie Cooke, 12 Andries Strauss (captain), 11 Marcello Sampson, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Jacques Engelbrecht, 7 Wimpie van der Walt, 6 Cornell du Preez, 5 David Bulbring, 4 Darron Nell, 3 Kevin Buys, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Schalk Ferreira

    Substitutes: 16 Grant Kemp, 17 Hannes Franklin, 18. Rynier Bernardo, 19 Devin Oosthuizen, 20 Nicolas Vergallo, 21 George Whitehead, 22 Shane Gates

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.