Lions snatch dramatic late win

    2015-03-20 12:29
    Armand Van Der Merwe of the Lions is tackled by Sean McMahon of the Rebels (Getty Images)

    Melbourne - Centre Lionel Mapoe crossed for a match-winning try in the 78th minute as the Lions fought back from 13-0 down to beat the inconsistent Melbourne Rebels 20-16 in a Super Rugby encounter on Friday.

    As it happened: Rebels v Lions

    The Rebels only had themselves to blame for the loss in front of their home supporters, with flyhalf Mike Harris missing three crucial kicks as the Lions recorded only their second win in six games this season.

    It looked like another road defeat for the South African conference's perennial basement dwellers when centre Mitch Inman and fullback Jonah Placid put the Rebels 13-0 ahead with tries in the first 12 minutes after an early Harris penalty.

    But those were the last points the Rebels would score for almost an hour as they failed to make the most of having the travel-weary Lions on the rack.

    Elton Jantjies put the Lions on the board with a late penalty at the end of the first half to make it 13-3, with flyhalf Marnitz Boshoff closing the gap further four minutes after the break with the Lions' first try.

    Jantjies converted and levelled the scores at 13-13 with a second penalty in the 61st minute before Harris ended the Rebels' drought with another three pointer to edge the hosts back in front.

    Both sides missed further kicks at goal as the Rebels looked set to record rare back-to-back victories only for the Lions to snatch it through Mapoe at the death.



    Tries: Mitch Inman, Jonah Placid

    Penalties: Mike Harris (2)


    Tries: Marnitz Boshoff, Lionel Mapoe

    Conversions: Elton Jantjies (2)

    Penalties: Elton Jantjies (2)



    15 Jonah Placid, 14 Dominic Shipperley, 13 Tamati Ellison,12 Mitch Inman, 11 Tom English, 10 Mike Harris, 9 Nic Stirzaker, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 Scott Fuglistaller, 6 Sean McMahon, 5 Lopeti Timani, 4 Luke Jones, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Pat Leafa, 1 Toby Smith

    Substitutes: 16 Tom Sexton , 17 Cruze Ah-Nau ,18 Paul Alo-Emile , 19 Steven Cummins, 20 Colby Fainga'a , 21 Luke Burgess , 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Sefenaia Naivalu.


    15. Jaco van der Walt, 14. Sampie Mastriet, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Elton Jantjies, 11. Courtnall Skosan, 10. Marnitz Boshoff, 9. Faf de Klerk, 8. Warren Whiteley (captain), 7. Warwick Tecklenburg, 6. Derick Minnie, 5. Franco Mostert, 4. Robert Kruger, 3. Ruan Dreyer, 2. Armand van der Merwe, 1. Schalk van der Merwe

    Substitutes: 16. Robbie Coetzee, 17. Corne Fourie, 18. Julian Redelinghuys, 19. Andries Ferreira, 20. Jaco Kriel, 21. Ross Cronje, 22. Harold Vorster, 23. Andries Coetzee

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.