Lions name team for Bulls derby

    2015-04-01 11:13

    Johannesburg - Lions coach Johan Ackermann has named his team to tackle the Bulls in a Super Rugby clash at Emirates Airline Park on Saturday (17:05 kick-off).

    Up front, Ackermann has made two changes from the team that beat the Reds 18-17 in Brisbane last week.

    Jacques van Rooyen starts at loosehead prop in place of Schalk van der Merwe, while Andries Ferreira earns a starting berth at lock, replacing Robert Kruger.

    Kruger drops to the bench, replacing Martin Muller who has been ruled out of action with a calf tear.

    Ackermann also made one change to his backline, with wing Anthony Volmink earning his first Super Rugby start of the year having fully recovered from his long-term injury. He replaces Sampie Mastriet.



    15. Andries Coetzee, 14. Ruan Combrinck, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Harold Vorster, 11. Anthony Volmink, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Ross Cronje, 8. Warren Whiteley (captain), 7. Warwick Tecklenburg, 6. Derick Minnie, 5. Franco Mostert, 4. Andries Ferreira, 3. Ruan Dreyer, 2. Robbie Coetzee, 1. Jacques van Rooyen

    Substitutes: 16. Armand van der Merwe, 17. Corne Fourie, 18. Julian Redelinghuys, 19. Robert Kruger, 20. Jaco Kriel, 21. Faf de Klerk, 22. Marnitz Boshoff, 23. Howard Mnisi



    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.