Lions assure no complacency

    2013-08-01 07:43
    Dylan des Fountain (Gallo Images)
    Cape Town - Lions centre Dylan des Fountain has assured fans they won't be overconfident in Saturday's second Super Rugby promotion-relegation playoff against the Kings.

    The Lions won the first match in Port Elizabeth 26-19 and head into the second clash at their Ellis Park home as firm favourites to book their return to Super Rugby.

    For the Kings to stay up, they have to win Saturday's second clash by at least eight points or with a four-try bonus point.

    But Des Fountain (28), who had a stellar game in Port Elizabeth last week, has warned his team-mates against any sort of complacency.

    "The Southern Kings will come with everything for us, and we know it," he told the Beeld website.

    "It wasn't easy in Port Elizabeth. We pulled through, but we face a massive challenge here at our home ground as well.

    "We cannot be overconfident and we see it as an unbelievably big match which will get very physical."

    Des Fountain said he enjoys his rugby in Johannesburg and he hopes conditions will be more conducive for running rugby on Saturday.

    "For me it's nice at the Lions - we are allowed to play rugby with a free will.

    "The field was wet in PE (last week) and we couldn't always give the ball as much air as we'd have liked. Hopefully we can get the ball though the hands on Saturday."

    The clash kicks off at 17:00, while all 60 000 tickets have been sold out - which sets a new crowd attendance record for Super Rugby.



    15. Ruan Combrinck, 14. Deon Helberg, 13. Stokkies Hanekom, 12. Dylan Des Fountain, 11. Anthony Volmink, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Ross Cronje, 8. Warren Whiteley, 7. Derick Minnie, 6. Jaco Kriel, 5. Franco van der Merwe, 4. Hendrik Roodt, 3. Julian Redelinghuys, 2. Martin Bezuidenhout, 1. JC Janse van Rensburg

    Substitutes: 16. Robbie Coetzee, 17. Ruan Dreyer, 18. Willie Britz, 19. Warwick Tecklenburg, 20. Guy Cronje, 21. Marnitz Boshoff, 22. Chrysander Botha


    15. SP Marais, 14. Hadleigh Parkes, 13. Ronnie Cooke, 12. Waylon Murray, 11. Scott van Breda, 10. George Whitehead, 9. Shaun Venter, 8. Jacques Engelbrecht, 7. Wimpie van der Walt, 6. David Bulbring, 5. Darron Nell (captain), 4. Cornell du Preez, 3. Kevin Buys, 2. Bandise Maku, 1. Schalk Ferreira

    Substitutes: 16. Charl du Plessis, 17. Hannes Franklin, 18. Steven Sykes, 19. Devin Oosthuizen, 20. Nicolas Vergallo, 21. Wesley Dunlop, 22. Shane Gates

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.