Leopards want Super 15 cut

    2013-04-07 15:46
    Cape Town - The Leopards Rugby Union has called on the SA Rugby Union (SARU) to distribute the R39.6m in Super Rugby broadcast money equally amongst the country's 14 provincial unions.

    According to Rapport, the money is currently distributed equally (R6.6m) amongst South Africa's six franchise teams - the Sharks, Stormers, Bulls, Cheetahs, Kings and Lions.

    Leopards president André May believes an equal distribution amongst all 14 provincial unions, which will see each union receive R2.2m, will result in a more competitive Currie Cup. May also wants to see a shift back to all 14 unions playing in the top section of the Currie Cup, and not the current six, eight Premier Division-First Division split.

    However, despite not giving the smaller unions a cut of the Super Rugby deal, SARU does distribute an additional R101m in broadcast money to the 14 provincial unions.

    The Leopards impressed on Saturday when they upset the Blue Bulls 33-26 in a Vodacom Cup match in Pretoria.

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.