Lambie benched, Beast out

    2014-07-17 11:02
    Durban - The much-awaited return to action of Cell C Sharks flyhalf Pat Lambie is a big boost to the side named to host the Highlanders at Kings Park in Saturday’s Vodacom Super Rugby quarter-final.

    Kick-off is at 17:05.

    Sharks website editor Michael Marnewick reports that Cobus Reinach too is back in the starting line-up after being named last week but having to pull out late with a minor complaint and didn’t feature against the Stormers.

    But the big news is Lambie’s return in place of Fred Zeilinga, albeit it on the bench. He last represented the Cell C Sharks almost four months ago but has been out with a torn biceps injury sustained against the Bulls in March and makes a welcome return to the team at this critical juncture.

    Director of Rugby Jake White is under no illusions that despite his team’s good form and strong squad, they are up against formidable opposition who defeated his team earlier in the season.

    “When they are on song, they can perform – they beat some big teams this year and this is a team that can score tries, they have the players,” he explains. “But, in saying that, the nice thing we have in our favour is that we lost to them. I know I don’t have to talk much this week. The players will know it’s not just going to happen. I think in a lot of ways, we were on a high in that pool game back in April, about to tour, and we ended up losing that game. We’ll be a lot more focussed this week.

    “In a lot of ways, it’s probably a good thing for us, a boost, that they beat us. Had we beaten them comfortably perhaps we would have gone into this game thinking it was a fait accompli. In a lot of ways we get to have another crack at them.”

    JP Pietersen has been declared fit after a clash with Duane Vermeulen last week and Reinach is the only change to the team that ran out against the Stormers.



    15. SP Marais, 14. S’bura Sithole, 13. JP Pietersen, 12. Paul Jordaan, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Frans Steyn, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Anton Bresler, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (captain), 1. Thomas du Toit

    Substitutes: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Etienne Oosthuizen, 20. Jean Deysel, 21. Charl McLeod, 22. Pat Lambie, 23. Tonderai Chavhanga


    15 Ben Smith (co-captain), 14 Richard Buckman, 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 Phil Burleigh, 11 Patrick Osborne, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Nasi Manu (co-captain), 7. Shane Christie, 6 Elliot Dixon, 5 Joe Wheeler, 4 Jarrad Hoeata, 3 Chris King, 2 Ged Robinson, 1 Kane Hames

    Substitutes: 16 Liam Coltman, 17 Matias Diaz, 18 JP Koen, 19 Josh Bekhuis, 20 Tom Franklin, 21 Fumiaki Tanaka, 22 Trent Renata, 23 Gareth Evans
    Read More On:  sharks super 15 pat lambie rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.