Jean aims for the extraordinary

    2014-03-06 23:23
    Christchurch - A tall order, but not impossible – that is almost the only way to describe the Stormers’ first Super Rugby tour match of the season when they take on the Crusaders in Christchurch on Saturday morning.

    Looking back at South African teams’ visits to Canterbury since 1996, the picture is pretty bleak. Out of the 44 matches hosted by the Crusaders against teams from the Republic, they’ve lost twice and drawn twice.

    That equates to a winning percentage of a staggering 91%, which is by far the best of any team against foreign opposition.

    The average score between the Crusaders and South African opposition over this period is 37-19, with the New Zealanders scoring four tries to two on average.

    The Cantabrians’ last defeat against a South African team was almost 13 years ago – on 22 April 2001, when the Cats won by 32-31.

    Since then, the Crusaders have won 32 successive home matches against teams from South Africa.

    And the last time they lost to a non-New Zealand side in Christchurch, was a decade ago, on 21 February 2004, against the Waratahs (43-19).

    However, the Crusaders lost at home less than a fortnight ago and coupled with the Stormers’ superb defence – they average just 10 missed tackles per game so far, fewer than any other team – anything is possible.

    “Simply put, this is a great challenge for us against a very successful Super Rugby franchise,” said Springbok and Stormers captain Jean de Villiers.

    “Playing against the Crusaders is really tough, as you can note by the fact that no South African team has won there in ages.

    "But that also means it’s a great challenge for us.

    “If we win there we would have achieved something special, something we haven’t achieved in the past and it’s a great challenge for us as a young squad.”



    15 Colin Slade, 14 Johnny McNicholl, 13 Reynold Lee-Lo, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Israel Dagg, 10 Tom Taylor, 9 Willi Heinz, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Matt Todd, 6 Luke Whitelock, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett

    Substitutes: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Tim Perry, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Dominic Bird, 20 Jordan Taufua, 21 Andy Ellis, 22 Tyler Bleyendaal, 23 Kieron Fonotia


    15  Jaco Taute, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Jean de Villiers (captain), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Gio Aplon, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Deon Fourie, 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Michael Rhodes, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff

    Substitutes: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Oliver Kebble, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Ruan Botha, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Peter Grant, 23 Sailosi Tagicakibau

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.