Jannie set for Super milestone

    2013-03-01 07:34
    Cape Town - Sharks prop Jannie du Plessis will play his 100th Super Rugby game when the Sharks face the Stormers at Kings Park in Durban on Saturday.

    According to the Beeld website, the 30-year-old has represented the Sharks in 73 Super Rugby games, while he also played 26 times for the Cheetahs.

    Of the current Sharks squad, only flanker Jacques Botes (106) has played more Super Rugby games.

    Sharks commercial manager, Rudolph Straeuli, lauded Du Plessis' impact at the Durban franchise.

    "Jannie is a fighter who always pulls through, even if he has a slight injury. It doesn't scare him.

    "Of all the Springboks he was the one who spent the most time on the field last season.

    "He doesn't always get the credit he deserves for his performances," said the former Bok coach.

    Other Sharks players nearing the 100 mark in Super Rugby are utility back Meyer Bosman (94 - 59 for the Cheetahs and 35 for the Sharks), wings JP Pietersen (88) and Odwa Ndungane (83), while prop Beast Mtawarira and No 8 Ryan Kankowski have both played 77 times for the Sharks.

    The Sharks' clash against the Stormers kicks off at 19:10 on Saturday night.



    15. Louis Ludik, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Francois Steyn (captain), 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Franco van der Merwe, 4. Anton Bresler, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Craig Burden, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

    Substitutes: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Wiehahn Herbst, 18. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 19. Jacques Botes, 20. Charl McLeod, 21. Meyer Bosman, 22. Odwa Ndungane


    15. Joe Pietersen, 14. Gio Aplon, 13. Jean de Villiers (captain), 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Bryan Habana, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Duane Vermeulen (vice-captain), 7. Rynhardt Elstadt, 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. Andries Bekker, 4. De Kock Steenkamp, 3. Frans Malherbe, 2. Deon Fourie, 1. Steven Kitshoff

    Substitutes: 16. Martin Bezuidenhout, 17. Pat Cilliers, 18. Don Armand, 19. Nizaam Carr, 20. Louis Schreuder, 21. Peter Grant, 22. Gerhard van den Heever

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.