Jane to miss Hurricanes' home semi

    2015-06-25 07:42

    Cape Town - Hurricanes coach Chris Boyd has named his team to face the Brumbies in their Super Rugby semi-final clash in Wellington on Saturday.

    Cory Jane has been ruled out with a hamstring injury, which sees Nehe Milner-Skudder moving to right wing and James Marshall given the fullback duties.

    It is the only disruption for Boyd, who has named an otherwise full strength team to play in front of an expected sell-out crowd at Westpac Stadium.

    Crucially, flyhalf Beauden Barrett has put the knee injury that kept him out of the last regular season match against the Chiefs behind him and will start at No 10.

    Brad Shields will start at blindside flank ahead of Blade Thomson, who has recovered from an ankle injury.

    Thomson will start off the bench which is also bolstered by the return of wing Matt Proctor, who has been out since with concussion in recent weeks.

    The Hurricanes last hosted a semi-final at Westpac Stadium back in 2006, when they clinched a 16-14 win over the Waratahs. Centre Ma’a Nonu was the only current Hurricanes player to play in that match.

    Kick-off for Saturday’s clash is scheduled for 09:35 (SA time).



    15 James Marshall, 14 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 13 Conrad Smith (captain), 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Brad Shields, 5 James Broadhurst, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Ben Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Reggie Goodes

    Substitutes: 16 Brayden Mitchell, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 19 Mark Abbott, 20 Blade Thomson, 21 Chris Smylie, 22 Rey Lee-Lo, 23 Matt Proctor


    15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Lausii Taliauli, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Christian Lealiifano,9 Nic White, 8 Ita Vaea, 7 David Pocock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Blake Enever, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore (captain), 1 Scott Sio

    Substitutes: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Allan Alaalatoa, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Jordan Smiler, 20 Jarrad Butler, 21 Michael Dowsett, 22 Nigel Ah Wong, 23 Robbie Coleman

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.