Jake no fan of new Super 18

    2014-05-16 11:26
    Cape Town - Sharks Director of Rugby Jake White is not in favour of the new Super Rugby format set to come into effect from 2016.

    The tournament will be expanded to 18 teams, with South Africa's Kings, a team from Argentina, and one yet to be decided added to the mix.

    The new 18-team format will feature the existing 10 franchises from Australia and New Zealand and six teams from South Africa. The 18 teams will be divided into four conferences with the three new entrants appearing in the two South African groups.

    However, not all teams would face each other and the South African teams would alternate between facing New Zealand and Australian teams.

    In an interview with the website, White said he's not a fan of the new system and feels there are "many things that could go right or wrong" in the makeup of the new groups.

    White feels it's unfair that for one year, one SA group would play no games against Kiwi teams and vice-versa.

    "You could end up, in two years, getting the toughest draw and I don't believe this competition should be determined by how your draw looks," said White.

    "It should be because you have got a good side. To be fair, the flaws that are in this system now are you could end up winning this competition because of the draw."

    The South African Rugby Union though is happy with the new format as it will see a sixth SA team (Kings) be included and also reduce the travel burden on SA players.

    White's Sharks are currently in Christchurch preparing to face the Crusaders on Saturday (kick-off 09:35 SA time).



    15 Tom Taylor, 14 Johnny McNicholl, 13 Rey Lee-Lo, 12 Ryan Crotty (captain), 11 Nemani Nadolo, 10 Colin Slade, 9 Willie Heinz, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Richie McCaw, 6 Jordan Taufua, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Dominic Bird, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett

    Substitutes: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Tim Perry, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Jimmy Tupou, 20 George Whitelock, 21 Andy Ellis, 22 Tyler Bleyendaal, 23 Nafi Tuitavake


    15. SP Marais 14. JP Pietersen 13. S’bura Sithole 12. Paul Jordaan 11. Lwazi Mvovo 10. Francois Steyn 9. Cobus Reinach 8. Willem Alberts 7. Jean Deysel 6. Tera Mtembu 5. Stephan Lewies 4. Etienne Oosthuizen 3. Jannie du Plessis 2. Bismarck du Plessis (captain) 1. Tendai Mtawarira

    Substitutes: 16. Kyle Cooper 17. Dale Chadwick 18. Lourens Adriaanse 19. Ryan Kankowski 20. Keegan Daniel 21. Charl McLeod 22. Tim Swiel 23. Heimar Williams

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.