Hurricanes remain unbeaten

    2015-03-27 10:18

    Wellington - Second-half tries to Cory Jane, Callum Gibbins and Nehe Milner-Skudder extended Wellington's perfect start to the season as the Hurricanes beat the Melbourne Rebels 36-12 on Friday.

    The Hurricanes are the only unbeaten side in Super Rugby this season and opened up a seven-point lead over Australia's Brumbies, who are in second place in the table on 20 points after also playing six games.

    Rebels' fullback Mike Harris slotted four first-half penalties as the Hurricanes were penalised heavily at the breakdown.

    Hurricanes scrumhalf TJ Perenara, celebrating his 50th Super Rugby cap for the team, capped off a typical hard-running move by his team mates with a try, which was converted by fullback Jason Woodward.

    Woodward, who played two seasons for the Rebels before returning home to Wellington late last year, added a penalty to narrow the deficit to 12-10.

    The Hurricanes put the game away in the second half, with winger Jane and flanker Gibbins scoring after the Hurricanes kicked ahead and put pressure on the chasing Rebels defenders.

    Fullback Milner-Skudder scored two tries in the final five minutes after some excellent build-up work as the home side kept the Rebels tryless in the match and scoreless in the second half.



    Tries: TJ Perenara,  Cory Jane, Callum Gibbins, Nehe Milner-Skudder (2)

    Conversions: Jason Woodward (4)

    Penalty: Woodward


    Penalties: Mike Harris (4)



    15 Jason Woodward, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith (captain), 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Matt Proctor, 10 James Marshall, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Callum Gibbins, 6 Brad Shields, 5 James Broadhurst, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Ben May, 2 Motu Matu'u, 1 Reggie Goodes

    Substitutes: 16 Brayden Mitchell, 17 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 18 Chris Eves, 19 Mark Abbott, 20 Adam Hill, 21 Chris Smylie, 22 Otere Black, 23 Nehe Milner-Skudder


    15 Mike Harris, 14 Tom English, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Mitch Inman, 11 Sefanaia Naivalu, 10 Jack Debreczeni, 9 Nic Stirzaker, 8 Scott Higginbotham (captain), 7 Scott Fuglistaller, 6 Sean McMahon, 5 Cadeyrn Naville, 4 Luke Jones, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Pat Leafa, 1 Toby Smith

    Substitutes: 16 Tom Sexton, 17 Cruze Ah-Nau, 18 Paul Alo-Emile, 19 Radike Samo, 20 Colby Fainga’a, 21 Ben Meehan, 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Jonah Placid

    Read More On:  rebels hurricanes super 15 rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.