Huge challenge for Sharks

    2015-04-30 21:30

    Cape Town - The Sharks will be looking to turn their season around when they face the Highlanders in their first Super Rugby tour match on Friday.

    The Durbanites are currently languishing in 10th spot on the overall log with only four wins from 10 outings.

    They have not won in Dunedin for five years, but will take heart from the fact that they have beaten the Highlanders four times in New Zealand over the years.

    It’s only against the Blues, where they’ve won six out of eight in New Zealand, that the Sharks boast a better away winning record than against the team from Otago (four from eight).

    The Sharks have won three from eight against the Hurricanes away, three from nine against the Chiefs and one from 12 against the Crusaders.

    The Sharks also welcome back three Springboks to their starting line-up - JP Pietersen (outside centre), Stephan Lewies (lock) and Bismarck du Plessis (hooker).

    Du Plessis is back after serving a four-week suspension for kicking an opposing player in the face. The Springbok hooker earlier this week also gave up the captaincy, insisting he wanted to prove his worth as a player again.

    Lock Marco Wentzel therefore retains the captaincy for Friday’s clash.

    Director of Rugby Gary Gold said it will be a tough encounter at Forsyth Barr Stadium (kick-off 09:35 SA time).

    “The Highlanders have real game-breakers and it’s going to be a huge challenge for us on Friday," said Gold.

    “I don’t think it gets much tougher than what we have coming on Friday. But we played some good rugby against the Bulls and the Lions and we want to carry that momentum into this game.”



    15 Ben Smith (co-captain), 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 Richard Buckman, 11 Patrick Osborne, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Nasi Manu (co-captain), 7 Dan Pryor, 6 Gareth Evans, 5 Mark Reddish, 4 Tom Franklin, 3 Josh Hohneck, 2 Liam Coltman, 1 Kane Hames

    Substitutes: 16 Ash Dixon, 17 Brendon Edmonds, 18 Pingi Tala'apitaga, 19 Joe Latta, 20 Elliot Dixon, 21 Fumiaki Tanaka, 22 Marty Banks, 23 Jason Emery


    15. Odwa Ndungane, 14. S’bura Sithole, 13. JP Pietersen, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Fred Zeilinga, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Willem Alberts, 7. Renaldo Bothma, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Marco Wentzel (captain), 4. Stephan Lewies, 3. Lourens Adriaanse, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

    Substitutes: 16. Franco Marais, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Matt Stevens, 19. Mouritz Botha, 20. Etienne Oosthuizen, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Lionel Cronje, 23. Waylon Murray

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.