Hooper wins top Oz award

    2013-08-08 07:43

    Sydney - Wallabies star Michael Hooper was on Thursday voted the Australian Super Rugby player of the year, beating George Smith and Will Genia.

    The openside flank polled 21 votes, four more than Smith and Genia, to become the first Waratahs player to win the honour since Phil Waugh in 2001, the Australian Rugby Union said.

    Hooper, 21, who joined the Waratahs from the Brumbies at the start of the season, played the first two Tests against the British and Irish Lions before he was displaced in the final Test by the more experienced Smith.

    Hooper polled votes in nine rounds of the competition, with four of those matches rated as man-of-the-match performances.

    Smith, who came out of international retirement to play in a second series against the Lions, polled 17 votes along with scrumhalf Genia.

    Former rugby league international Israel Folau was named rookie of the year in his first season in union, while former Springbok World Cup winner Jake White and his Brumbies side won the coach and team of the year gongs.

    Read More On:  waratahs super 15 rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    1 comment
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.