‘Honey Badger’ back for Force

2015-03-05 11:45

Perth - Nick ‘Honey Badger’ Cummins will make his return to the field when the Western Force take on the Brumbies in Canberra on Friday, the Force’s official website reports.

Cummins was not included in the Force’s matc- day squad last weekend after recovering from recent ankle surgery, however, the 27-year-old is ready to return to the line-up on the left wing.

Fellow wing Marcel Brache will start on the right hand side, with Luke Morahan starting at fullback.

Chris Alcock will also make his comeback this week after he was sidelined with a leg injury sustained against the Reds in Brisbane a fortnight ago. Alcock comes into the starting line-up on the openside flank, allowing the versatile Brynard Stander to shift to the opposite side of the scrum in place of the injured Angus Cottrell (ankle).

Off the bench, Ian Prior will play his 50th Super Rugby match against the side he played 25 matches for between 2012 and 2013. The reliable scrumhalf also played six matches for the Reds, in addition to the 18 matches he has already registered for the Force.

Lock Wilhelm Steenkamp is also set to make his first appearance for the Force during this Super Rugby campaign, replacing Rory Walton on the reserves list.

Friday’s clash kicks off at 10:40 (SA time).



15 Robbie Coleman, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Christian Leali'ifano, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Matt Toomua, 9 Nic White, 8 Ita Vaea, 7 Jarrad Butler, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore (captain), 1 Scott Sio

Substitutes: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 JP Smith, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Jordan Smiler, 20 Blake Enever, 21 Michael Dowsett, 22 James Dargaville, 23 Jesse Mogg


15 Luke Morahan, 14 Marcel Brache, 13 Kyle Godwin, 12 Solomoni Jnr Rasolea, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Zack Holmes, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Chris Alcock, 6 Brynard Stander, 5 Steve Mafi, 4 Sam Wykes (captain), 3 Tetera Faulkner, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Pek Cowan

Substitutes: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Chris Heiberg, 18 Oliver Hoskins, 19 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 20 Kane Koteka, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Sias Ebersohn, 23 Luke Burton


  • Gluteus Maximus - 2015-03-05 12:10

    Ratel klink beter as Honey Badger.

  • Berto Petra Mostert - 2015-03-05 13:30

    Is that the upside down floor mop!?

  • pages:
  • 1