Highlanders win NZ derby

    2014-03-21 10:22

    Garrin Lambley - Sport24 Editor

    Cape Town - The Highlanders have beaten the Hurricanes in a frenetic New Zealand Vodacom Super Rugby derby in Dunedin on Friday.

    AS IT HAPPENED: Highlanders v Hurricanes

    The Highlanders won 35-31 after leading 18-9 at half-time.

    The Highlanders scored two tries through centre Phil Burleigh and wing Patrick Osborne. Flyhalf Lima Sopoaga was on target with both conversions as well as seven penalties for a personal haul of 25 points.

    The Hurricanes replied with tries by prop Ben Franks and flyhalf Beauden Barrett (2). Barrett added two conversions as well as four penalties for a haul of 26 points.

    The Highlanders picked up four points for their victory and moved to second in the New Zealand Conference and seventh in the Overall standings.

    The Hurricanes left the Forsyth Barr Stadium with a single point for losing by seven or fewer points, and moved up to fourth in the NZ Conference and 11th overall.

    In next weekend's Round 7 action, the Highlanders travel to Auckland to play the Blues (Saturday, March 29 at 08:35), while the Hurricanes visit Christchurch to face the seven-time champion Crusaders (Friday, March 28 at 08:35).



    15. Ben Smith (captain), 14. Richard Buckman, 13. Malakai Fekitoa, 12. Phil Burleigh, 11. Patrick Osborne, 10. Lima Sopoaga, 9. Aaron Smith, 8. Nasi Manu, 7. Shane Christie, 6. Elliot Dixon, 5. Joe Wheeler, 4. Brad Thorn, 3. Ma'afu Fia, 2. Liam Coltman, 1. Kane Hames

    Substitutes: 16. Ged Robinson, 17. Matias Diaz, 18. Chris King, 19. Jarrad Hoeata, 20. TJ Ioane, 21. Fumiaki Tanaka, 22. Hayden Parker, 23. Shaun Treeby


    15 Marty Banks, 14 Alapati Leiua, 13 Conrad Smith (captain), 12 Hadleigh Parkes, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Chris Smylie, 8 Faifili Levave, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Jack Lam, 5 James Broadhurst, 4 Mark Reddish, 3 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Ben Franks

    Substitutes: 16 Ash Dixon, 17 Chris Eves, 18 John Schwalger, 19 Mark Abbott, 20 Blade Thomson/Adam Hill, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Matt Proctor, 23 Andre Taylor

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.