Masaga sinks brave Kings

    2013-03-15 20:02
    Port Elizabeth - Chiefs wing Lelia Masaga scored a hat-trick of tries to earn his team a bonus-point win as they overcame another spirited effort by the Southern Kings to win their Super Rugby match 35-24 at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth last night.

    The Chiefs led 18-13 at halftime and although the Kings were not outclassed and had more opportunities with the ball than in previous games, the New Zealanders were in control for much of the encounter.

    Besides Masaga's three tries, forward Sam Kane also crossed for the Chiefs and the accurate boot of pivot Gareth Anscombe added the remaining points with three conversions and three penalties.

    VIDEO: Super Rugby: Kings v Chiefs - highlights

    Pacy wing Sergeal Petersen scored his third try for the Kings just before halftime and powerful loose forward Jacques Engelbrecht dotted down after a driving maul in the second half, while flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis slotted four penalties and a conversion.

    Slick handling and passing by the Chiefs players exposed the Kings defence twice in the first half and Masaga needed no second bidding to shoot over for two tries.

    It helped the Chiefs build a handy 18-6 cushion and they were on the attack heading towards halftime when a dropped pass saw Petersen swoop on the ball just metres from his line to run almost the length of the field for a thrilling try under the posts.

    It gave the home fans some hope, but Chiefs again pulled ahead through Cane, followed by Masaga's third try in the 53rd minute to make it 32-13.

    Hopwever, the Kings refused to lie down and hit back through Engelbrecht's strong effort, before the Chiefs had the final say when Anscombe slotted his third penalty with just minutes remaining to seal the deal for the visitors. Sapa


    Southern Kings:
    Tries: Sergeal Petersen, Jacques Engelbrecht
    Penalties: Demetri Catrakilis x 4
    Conversions: Demetri Catrakilis

    Tries: Lelia Masaga x 3, Sam Cane
    Penalties: Gareth Anscombe x 3
    Conversions: Gareth Anscombe x 3


    15 SP Marais, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ronnie Cooke, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Marcello Sampson, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Jacques Engelbrecht, 7 Wimpie van der Walt, 6 Cornell du Preez, 5 Steven Sykes 4 Darron Nell (captain), 3 Kevin Buys, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Schalk Ferreira

    Substitutes: 16 Edgar Marutlulle, 17 Jaco Engels, 18 David Bulbring, 19 Daniel Adongo, 20 Nicolas Vergallo, 21 George Whitehead, 22 Hadleigh Parkes

    15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Tim Nanai-Williams, 12 Andrew Horrell, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Ross Filipo, 7 Tanerau Latimer 6 Liam Messam, 5 Michael Fitzgerald, 4 Craig Clarke (captain), 3 Ben Afeaki, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Toby Smith

    Substitutes: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Pauliasi Manu, 18 Brodie Retallick, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Augustine Pulu, 21 Charlie Ngatai, 22 Patrick Osborne

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.