Greyling in Bulls starting XV

    2013-04-24 12:11
    Pretoria - Dean Greyling will make his first start for the Bulls this season, when the Pretoria-based side takes on the Waratahs in a Vodacom Super Rugby clash at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

    Greyling missed the first part of the season due to a stress fracture in his foot and played his way back to match fitness with some stellar performances in the Vodacom Blue Bulls side in the last couple of weeks.

    He replaces Mornè Mellett, who has started in all eight matches this season.

    The change at prop is one of four made by Vodacom Bulls coach Frans Ludeke from the side that outplayed the Southern Kings, with the return of fit-again players the main criteria in selection.

    Try-scoring ace Bjorn Basson will start on the left wing ahead of Lionel Mapoe and Dewald Potgieter will take over from Deon Stegmann in the fetcher role. Werner Kruger also comes in for injured Frik Kirsten at tighthead.

    Francois Hougaard has being cleared following an ankle injury and will play of the bench ahead of Rudy Paige, while Wilhelm Steenkamp will replace the injured Paul Willemse as the third lock in the squad.

    Willie Wepener replaces Callie Visagie as back-up hooker.

    “We finally played the rugby we wanted last weekend and the challenge will be to back it up against the Waratahs,” Ludeke said.

    “They are dangerous opponents and at this level the margins are very small, so we cannot afford to play at any level other than our best.”

    Vodacom Bulls captain Pierre Spies added: “They are capable of beating anyone, as they showed against the Chiefs last week. We will need to use the momentum we have created last week on attack, but from a defensive perspective, they will ask a lot of new questions. We will have to answer all of them if we want to keep on winning.”


    Bulls: 15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Mornè Steyn, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Pierre Spies (captain), 7 Arno Botha, 6 Dewald Potgieter, 5 Juandrè Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Dean Greyling.

    Substitutes: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 Jacques Potgieter, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Louis Fouchè, 22 Lionel Mapoe.



    Read More On:  bulls super 15 dean greyling rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.