Gold expecting tough battle

    2015-05-07 12:39

    Cape Town - The Sharks may have seen their Super Rugby play-off ambitions go up in smoke, but they can take a large step towards salvaging some pride with victory over the Hurricanes in Wellington on Saturday.

    The Durban franchise yesterday named their starting XV for the 09:35 kick-off that will see them field a new-look half back pairing in Stefan Ungerer and Lionel Cronje, while Frans Steyn (centre), Renaldo Bothma (No 8) and Jannie du Plessis (prop) also return.

    The Sharks have won just four of their 11 fixtures in the competition so far and must still face the Waratahs and the Reds on their Australasian tour.

    Gold is fully aware of the difficulties awaiting his side.

    "The Hurricanes are a team on an absolute high at the moment, their performance against the Crusaders was outstanding and this is probably going to be a big challenge for many of our players at this moment in time, with backs against the wall," he said.

    "We're playing the best team in the competition; it's going to be an unbelievable challenge, but one that's going to make us grow as a group.

    "From our point of view, we need to concentrate on the things we can do well, we know we have the ability to do well, even though we haven't done it very often. But we're a proud bunch of guys and this is an opportunity against the odds to step up to the plate."

    The Hurricanes currently top the New Zealand conference and the combined log, having lost just once in 10 matches this season.



    15 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith (captain), 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Matt Proctor, 10 James Marshall, 9 Chris Smylie, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Blade Thomson, 5 James Broadhurst, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Ben Franks, 2 Motu Matu'u, 1 Chris Eves

    Substitutes: 16 Brayden Mitchell, 17 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 18 Reggie Goodes, 19 Callum Gibbins, 20 Brad Shields, 21 Frae Wilson, 22 Otere Black, 23 Rey Lee-Lo


    15. Lwazi Mvovo, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. JP Pietersen, 12. Frans Steyn, 11. S'bura Sithole, 10. Lionel Cronje, 9. Stefan Ungerer, 8. Renaldo Bothma, 7. Etienne Oosthuizen, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Marco Wentzel (captain), 4. Stephan Lewies, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

    Substitutes: 16. Franco Marais, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Mouritz Botha, 20. Kyle Cooper, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Andre Esterhuizen, 23. Waylon Murray

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.