Gold: I believe in this Sharks group

    2015-04-24 11:26

    Durban - The Sharks Director of Rugby, Gary Gold, believes his players can resurrect their season as they prepare for a four-game Super Rugby tour.

    The Sharks have lost three matches on the trot for the first time since 2012 and are languishing in third spot in the South African Conference and ninth position in the Overall standings, having already played 10 of their 16 matches - more than any other side to date.

    On tour, they will face the Highlanders (Dunedin, May 1), Hurricanes (Wellington, May 9), Waratahs (Sydney, May 16) and Reds (Brisbane, May 22).

    Gold on Friday selected a 27-member squad which departs for Australasia on Saturday.

    Commenting on the squad selected and the tour, Gold said: "I have gone for 15 forwards and 12 backs, my selection was based on who is fit and healthy, but the nice thing is that there are a lot of guys who can play in different positions.

    "We are looking forward to this tour. Tours are funny things, I've seen teams in far worse positions than us fight to get back and we not giving up the fight. I believe in this group of guys and I am keen to work with them in adverse times - that's when you see true warriors come out.

    "That's our challenge: we are down but we're not out and now is the time to stand up and fight back. If we come back fighting in the last six games, we'll salvage a lot of respect," Gold added.

    Sharks touring squad:

    1. Lourens Adriaanse

    2. Willem Alberts

    3. Mouritz Botha

    4. Renaldo Bothma

    5. Dale Chadwick

    6. Marcell Coetzee

    7. Lionel Cronje

    8. Bismarck du Plessis

    9. Jannie du Plessis

    10. Andre Esterhuizen

    11. Conrad Hoffmann

    12. Stephan Lewies

    13. Franco Marais

    14. Tendai Mtawarira

    15. Lubabalo ‘Giant’ Mtyanda

    16. Waylon Murray

    17. Lwazi Mvovo

    18. Odwa Ndungane

    19. Etienne Oosthuizen

    20. JP Pietersen

    21. Cobus Reinach

    22. S’bura Sithole

    23. Matt Stevens

    24. Francois Steyn

    25. Stefan Ungerer

    26. Marco Wentzel

    27. Fred Zeilinga

    * The Du Preez brothers, Daniel and Jean-Luc, as well as Thomas du Toit, were not considered due to their selection to the SA U20 squad while the following players have not been considered for selection due to injury or suspension:

    Pat Lambie

    Pieter-Steph du Toit

    Ryan Kankowski

    SP Marais

    Tera Mtembu

    Paul Jordaan

    Jean Deysel (suspension)

    Read More On:  sharks super 15 gary gold rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.