Force bank on SA's Van Wyk

    2015-02-19 11:36

    Perth - South African-born loosehead prop Francois van Wyk will make his first appearance in the starting XV when the Western Force take on the Reds in Brisbane on Saturday, the Force's official website reports.

    Van Wyk, who scored the Force’s final try in last weekend’s 25-13 win over the Waratahs in Sydney, has played three matches off the bench for the Western Australian franchise, and will pack down alongside Wallabies Nathan Charles and Tetera Faulkner.

    The 23-year-old front-rower replaces Pek Cowan, who will be monitored regarding his pending return after scans cleared him of any serious injury having been carried from the field on Sunday.

    The other change to the starting XV sees Zack Holmes promoted to fullback in the absence of Dane Haylett-Petty, who has been ruled out with a foot injury.

    The reserves list sees two new additions, with prop Chris Heiberg and winger Mitchell Scott in line to make their Asteron Life Super Rugby debuts.

    Heiberg was previously a member of the Stormers’ match-day squad during the 2013 season prior to joining the Force, while Scott is in line for his first opportunity at this level after joining the Western Australian squad from ITM Cup runners-up, the Tasman Makos, at the end of the 2014 season.

    Kick-off for Saturday’s encounter at Suncorp Stadium is scheduled for 10:40 (SA time).



    15 Karmichael Hunt, 14 Chris Kuridrani, 13 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 Lachie Turner, 10 James O’Connor, 9 Will Genia, 8 Jake Schatz, 7 Liam Gill, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 James Horwill, 4 Marco Kotze, 3 Sam Talakai, 2 Saia Fainga’a, 1 James Slipper (captain) 

    Substitutes: 16 James Hanson, 17 Ben Daley, 18 Sef Faagase, 19 Tom Murday, 20 Curtis Browning, 21 Nick Frisby, 22 Sam Johnson, 23 Campbell Magnay


    15 Zack Holmes, 14 Luke Morahan, 13 Kyle Godwin, 12 Solomoni Jnr Rasolea, 11 Marcel Brache, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8  Ben McCalman, 7 Chris Alcock, 6 Angus Cottrell, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Sam Wykes (captain), 3 Tetera Faulkner, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Francois van Wyk

    Substitutes: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Chris Heiberg, 18 Oliver Hoskins, 19 Steve Mafi, 20 Brynard Stander, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Luke Burton, 23 Mitchell Scott
    Read More On:  reds force super 15 rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    1 comment
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.